CV reference number: 21077
CV Headline

I am an experienced British Herd Manager looking for a permanent responsible position in Herefordshire, Gloucestershire, Wales or South West England.  I have 21 years experience of managing herds of up to 300 cows, both intensive grazing systems and TMR.  I am a competent foot trimmer and able to AI.  I can provide excellent references.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

DIY AI and foot trimming.

Equipment experienceTractor, Combine, Baler, Telehandler/fork lift, Other harvesters, Fencing, Ploughing, Drilling
Other equipment experience

I worked with an agricultural contracter covering all aspects of silage making, combining, ploughing, drilling and baling.  I have experience in TMR feeding.  I have past experience as a Tractor driver/Mechanic and am very able to carry out mechanical jobs too.

Livestock experienceDairy, Beef, Calving
Other livestock experience

I have experience in working with dairy herds of up to 300 cows. I worked with a Jersey herd of 200 cows on an extended grazing system and tight calving pattern. I have also worked with herds calving all year round. I am competent with calving, heat detection, DIY AI, foot trimming and record keeping.

Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture

I am 5ft 11 and about 13 stone,

Relevant health problems

I am fit and healthy and a non smoker.

Other Information
Marital status

I am married and have 2 children who are now grown up and have left home. I have three young grandsons who love coming to stay with us so will require a family home.

Where are you currently living?Wales
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

I grew up on my parents dairy farm and have been involved in a farming capacity all my working life. I worked for an agricultural contractor for several years as a Tractor driver. I have been a full time herdsperson for the last 20 years working with herds of up to 300 cows. I have experience in DIY AI, foot trimming, calving and computer record keeping. I work well within a team environment but I am able to use my own initiative.


I am interested in classic motorcycles. I enjoy gardening and walking. I have recently started renovating an old Campervan.

AvailabilityStart: 01/12/2019, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionWest Midlands
Where would you like to work?South Wales/Herefordshire
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.