CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 95311

General Farmworker Looking for work in or around Lochgilphead.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

Not listed

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Arable, Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

Education
SRUC Oatridge College 2020-2022
Agriculture Higher National Certificate B+
Agriculture Higher National Diploma - Ongoing

City of Glasgow College 2017-2018
Carpentry & Joinery National Qualification Pass

All Saints RC Secondary School 2008-2014
Music Higher A
Practical Electronics National 5 A
Mathematics Intermediate 2 C
Chemistry Intermediate1 C
Computing Studies Standard Grade 4

Driving Licence

Provisional

Equipment experience

Tractor, Ploughing, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Beef, Sheep, Lambing

Other equipment experience

My 12-hour shifts consisted of feeding cattle in the morning with the use of a Keenan Mixer wagon, tractor work in the afternoon which would range from spreading muck, slurry and operating a twin disc fertiliser spreader as well as mixing slurry, and then operating the Manitou to load and unload bales, fertiliser and various odd jobs like scraping silage. I also have various experience driving quadbikes throughout the farm doing daily tasks such as feeding sheep and catching lambing ewes.

Other livestock experience

I had the opportunity to work on a farm through the college which was situated near the Scottish Borders and held 1500 Blue Faced Leicester Cross Ewes and 200 Pedigree Beltex and 200 Hereford Cross Beef Cattle. My shifts involved general animal husbandry which included the feeding, watering, dosing and bedding of animals, the moving of sheep to another area and also lambing, which I assisted with throughout the evening. This provided me with invaluable experience and helped me develop a better understanding of what it entails to work in a high paced and challenging work environment. This has also allowed me to become more comfortable working at a much higher scale than previously taught throughout college.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

25

Marital status

I have a girlfriend who will likely be moving with me if living in on farm accommodation.

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Lanarkshire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

During my free time I enjoy learning new things which lately has included gardening and growing vegetables as well as learning the odd thing about cars with the hopes to have my own project car in the future. Another passion I have is fishing. Whenever I get the chance to spend a few days at my caravan or visit new places I enjoy spending this time fishing at the waterfront. On top of that I have an interest in reptiles and have owned various kinds over the years, ranging from Ball Pythons to Poison Dart Frogs which I am currently breeding. I am hopeful that my future move to Lochgilphead will allow for me to enjoy and develop my interest and hobbies further.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

6ft 2 inches 15 Stone

Relevant health problems

None

Farming background

Through the college we have had the opportunity to assist the farm with taking up lambing nightshifts and were left unattended to care for lambs and ewes. We done this by assisting, feeding, watering, tube feeding, twinning on and recording data for the on-farm research. This was mandatory throughout the first year of college, and although this was not mandatory in my current year, I decided to continue helping due to the lack of student numbers as well as my previous enjoyment within this area.

I also worked on a 1000 Acre Livestock Farm in West Linton which held 1500+ Sheep and 200 Beef Cattle alongside a horse livery. This was over the duration of a month which I worked 11 - 14 hour days with no days off to assure good quality lambs being born with few casualties.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 30/06/2022 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

Scotland

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Preferably in or around Lochgilphead as im soon moving to Lochgilphead after the college year ends.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×