CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 90333

I am living in Scotland but I am willing to relocate with my family to start a new career. I was brought up on the Isle of Lewis and I always like having projects outside working my own croft. This has included putting new drainage in, treating the rushes, raising pigs and chickens.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

Not listed

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Arable, Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

Sept 2020 CPC Certification
31/03/2016 NPORS OPERATOR Forklift Certificate
Able Seaman

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, LGV/HGV Truck, LGV C+E (UK Only)

Equipment experience

Tractor, Baler, HGV1, HGV 2 and 3, Tracked Machine, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Beef, Pig, Sheep, Lambing, Poultry

Other equipment experience

Tractor Experience - Undertook two seasons of bailing and regularly use a tractor to maintain my croft.

HGV 1 Experience - Hauling a variety of loads regularly, recently updated my CPC training in 2020.

HGV 2 Experience - Parcel deliveries for Hebrides Haulage in my spare time.

Tracked Machine Experience - Drainage and Loading, but no tickets held.

Fork Lift Experience - I have obtained obtained a counterbalance forklift certificate and have some experience of handling a telehandler.

Fencing Experience - I have undertaking fencing work on my own croft and with the village common grazing. This has included rylock fencing, electric fencing, and wooden fencing.

Other livestock experience

I have reared my own pigs within my own croft, this has involved farrowing and rearing for market. I have kept pigs for 10 over years part-time and have gained valuable knowledge and confidence within this time of handling pigs and rearing them.

I have often kept chickens and ducks and have re homed a number of ex battery hens and have kept them for their eggs. I have learned how to make chicken huts and runs and regularly update their enclosures.

My family have always kept sheep and I have helped the family with all aspects of looking after their flocks since childhood. This has involved dipping, dosing, relocating them to a new area and lambing. I have also participated in the documentation of record keeping.

I have experience in looking after cows, from feeding them, separating the calves and moving them.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

35

Marital status

I am married and I have 3 children, and another one on the way. I would be looking for a job that has accommodation for my whole family.

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

South Lanarkshire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Lorry driving Long walks with my dog and family Cycling Jobs around the house I always have a project on the go, such as painting our house or when I can get back to the Isle of Lewis, I will spend a lot of my time maintaining my croft.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

I am 35 years old and my height is 6 foot 4.

Relevant health problems

No health problems

Farming background

I have worked for a ferry operator as a Merchant Seaman for 9 years and have thoroughly enjoyed the position. However, it is in my time off that I do the things that I really love - working on the land and rearing animals.

I have driven many tractors and quads and have gained a lot of knowledge on how to maintain them. . I have been involved with haylage and silage making using tractors as well as ploughing. I find working with tractors very enjoyable and I pride myself in keeping my tractor in a good condition. I have a valid working forklift driving certificate as well as recently completing my CPC training as I regularly drive lorries on my time off work.

I also regularly looked after cows for some crofters on the Island when they were away. I would check on them in the fields, feed them, move them and take silage out to them.

I always like having projects outside and have been very happy working my own croft. This has included putting new drainage in, treating the rushes, raising pigs, keeping chickens and clearing ground. My next project for my croft is to re-fence the whole area.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/07/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

I am willing to relocate for the right position.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×