CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 83866

Female looking to work with livestock in Scotland. Experience with beef and dairy cattle as well as sheep.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

BTEC, City and Guilds

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

BTEC National Diploma in Agriculture grade D*D*

BTEC National Extended Diploma in Animal Management with Science D*D*D*

GCSE English Language (grade A)
GCSE English Literature (grade A)
GCSE Maths (grade A)
GCSE Biology (grade A)
GCSE Chemistry (grade A)
GCSE Physics (grade A)
GCSE Applied Business Studies (grade A)
GCSE Geography (grade A)
GCSE History (grade A*)
GCSE French (grade A*)

City and Guilds Level 2 Health and Safety

Driving Licence

Provisional

Equipment experience

Tractor, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Goat, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

Some experience driving a tractor and fencing.

Some ATV experience.

Other livestock experience

Previously worked on a dairy farm for 7 months milking a herd of 380 cows twice a day (mixture of Friesian crosses, Danish Red, Norwegian Red and Shorthorn) and cleaning the parlour. Duties also included feeding calves both with a bucket and bottle, treating dry cows and checking ear tag numbers for paperwork, treating cows for milk fever and mastitis as well as general health checks & identifying problems.

Worked with a herd of Red Poll cattle at Shuttleworth College carrying out vaccinations, health checks, assessing condition of stock for breeding and slaughter, some calving, feeding, mucking out, and grooming for show.

Worked with a flock of approximately 250 Suffolk Cross sheep at Shuttleworth college carrying out tasks such as vaccinations, worming, pregnancy diagnosis and spraying sheep according to the colour code for single/twin lambs, feeding orphan lambs, feeding pregnant ewes, navel dipping, castration, tail docking, ear tagging and hoof trimming. I was also chosen as a stockjudge for breeding ewes as part of the Smithfield Show in 2016. I have observed shearing as well.

I have some experience with goats at college carrying out basic tasks such as mucking out, feeding, grooming and health checks.

Previously owned chickens as pets and looked after other people's pet chickens.

Personal information
Sex

Female

Other Information

-

Age

21

Marital status

-

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Lancashire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I am a very outdoorsy person so spend as much of my time as I can outdoors in nature. I enjoy walking and caring for my dog (Welsh Sheepdog). I also enjoy foraging and sea fishing,(I have recently started preparing game meat too) wild camping, practising bushcraft skills and learning about wildlife. Photography is another hobby of mine and I mainly take photos of the landscape, nature and my dog.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

Height: 5' 5" Weight: 56kg I have previously worked on a dairy farm. I have also travelled around the UK (mainly in the Scottish Highlands though) and am from Bedfordshire. I am 21 years old, and although I do not have a farming background the agricultural industry is something I am keen to work in, ideally working with livestock as I have always wanted to work with animals. I am punctual, ambitious and keen to learn.

Relevant health problems

-

Farming background

2021 - Volunteering on small scale enterprises (eg. cider vinegar making, gardening and woodland management).

2020-2021 - Milker on a dairy farm

2018-2019 - Volunteer at a dog training and behaviour school.

Late 2015 - Volunteer at a cattery.

Summer 2015 - Volunteer at a dog rescue.

Also have experience with beef cattle and sheep.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 31/01/2022 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

Scotland

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

I would ideally like to work on a livestock farm, but would also be open to working on a mixed farm and having a go at arable. A position where accommodation is available essential. I would preferably like a position in Scotland as this is my favourite part of the UK having travelled on and off for the past few years and would like to move there permanently.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×