CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 75717

Northern Irish farm worker. Looking for work in Northern Ireland or the main land. See cv

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

NVQ Level 1

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

Hnd in business, 10GCSEs and 3 a levels. Level 2 qualification in farm management see cv. Recently completed the diploma course at the national stud also.

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

Can use a tractor and tele-handler around the farm for general farm work. Ive done a small amount of fencing also and willing to learn more

Other livestock experience

Have 2 year experience working with dairy cows and beef. Milked 300cows twice a day daily on a delayed swing Parlour, Confident at calf rearing and doing the day to day jobs on a dairy farm confident useing a tractor and tele-handler around the farm. Eager to learn more. Confident at calving also.

Personal information


Other Information

Personal Statement: I am currently working on a farm in wales having successfully completed a two-year part-time HND in Business at the Northern Regional College and an Agricultural Management course at Greenmount College. After working in a variety of jobs I have decided that farming and working with dairy cows is the direction I want to take my career. I would like to gain experience in working on a large family farm outside Northern Ireland with a view to returning to help run our family farm a further down the line(10+years). I am a good team member, and an active player for a Rugby Club. Education Carrickfergus Grammar School, 2004-2013 10 GCSEs obtained in August 2011: Biology (B) English (C) English Literature (C) Geography (C) History (C) Mathematics (B) Religious Studies (C) Accounting (C) Business and Communication Systems (D) Physical Education (C) 3 A Levels obtained in August, 2013 Biology (D) Accounting (D) Geography (D) Northern Regional College, Newtownabbey Campus, 2013-2015 HND in Business Greenmount College of Agriculture, 2016-2017 Level II certificate in Agricultural Business Operations Work Experience I have worked as part of a team selecting, packing, and sending items ordered online for a local natural cosmetics company, and have done stewarding and crowd control for local authority concerts etc. From an early age I have worked on the family farm. This has helped to give me a positive work ethic and to focus on attention to detail whilst caring for young livestock. Ive also worked on other local farms around Carrickfergus/Larne area. I am confident at: • Milking have milked up to 200 cows using a Fullwood herringbone parlour • Calving and Calf rearing • Dis-budding calves • Drying cows off • Lambing and caring for a 50 ewe pedigree flock • Treating cows for routine ailments and assessing whether veterinary attention is required • Yard work: Scraping, putting out silage, bedding etc Interests My interests and hobbies are mainly centred on sport and animals: Ive played rugby from the age of 11 and currently play for Carrickfergus rugby club. I am interested in horse breeding and racing and follow our gelding which is in training at Newmarket. I also help care for our Clydesdale filly at home. Other Skills GCSE Computing (Business and Communication Systems) Driving- Full current clean driving licence. References Are available on request. Dear Sir/Madam, I am writing to apply for the position of Herdsperson on your family farm. I was brought up on our family farm in Northern Ireland so I understand the importance of the farm business to your family. Our farm is a medium-sized, mixed farm of about 200 acres. It centres around a milking herd of 80 cows which are a mix of traditional British Friesians, Ayrshires, and Jerseys with a few other breeds such as dairy shorthorns and Montbeliardes. Over the past few years we have been focussing on improving our milk components rather than super-yields and also maximising our return from grass. I enjoy milking and all aspects of animal husbandry. I am competent at calving, calf-rearing and general cow care but I would be interested in learning new skills such as hoof care and Artificial Insemination. I understand the need for hygiene in the parlour and to keep SCC and bacto counts as low as possible and to absolutely avoid any contamination of the milk. I also understand the need for accurate record keeping and compliance with national and our local dairy standards and regulations. We also have a pedigree Aberdeen Angus herd and produce quality bulls and suckled calves for sale. We tend to cross our Jersey heifers with the Angus bull to ensure we have an animal of some value for beef if it happens to be a bull calf. We also have a small sheep flock of mostly pedigree Dorsets and sell approximately 80 fat lambs each spring. Our farming systems seem similar to yours albeit we operate on a smaller scale and also calve all year round to maintain an even milk supply, but we contract out our silage making and slurry spreading. Most other tractor-related tasks we undertake ourselves and I have experience in general tractor work such as yard-scraping, topping and rolling fields, putting out bales etc. I enjoy hard work and am able to work well as part of a team, but can also be relied upon to milk on my own if needed. This opportunity seems ideal for me and I believe I could benefit you and also learn a lot that could assist me in running my own farm business in the future. If you would be willing to give me a chance I would be happy to come over for interview or to work for you over a weekend at my own expense so you can see if I would fit in. I attach my CV for your attention and would be happy to answer any further questions you might have over the phone. Thank you for your consideration. Yours faithfully, JOHN Reference available on request



Marital status




Where are you currently living?

Co Antrim

First language


Do you have the right to work in the UK?


Other languages



Enjoy rugby and horse racing

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

6ft2 88kg

Relevant health problems


Farming background

From a dairy family farm, worked on dairy farm milking 300 cows a day and calf rearing and standard tractor work around the farm. Bedding and scrapping also. Milking have milked up to 300 cows using a Fullwood herringbone parlour • Calving and Calf rearing • Dis-budding calves • Drying cows off • Lambing and caring for a 50 ewe pedigree flock • Treating cows for routine ailments and assessing whether veterinary attention is required • Yard work: Scraping, putting out silage, bedding etc. See cv. I am currently working as a assistant herdmans in wales milking 300 autumn block cows. I was set to do a ai course this summer but havent got round to it due to the current situation with covid19. I am eager to learn as much as possible to improve my skill set and make life easier on the farm.


Start: 18/06/2024 Finish: 04/03/2139

Preferred region

Northern Ireland

Type of job


Where would you like to work?

I am happy working anywhere in the UK

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.