CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 69901

Male looking for herdsperson position on a dairy farm in southern England.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

NCA

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

NCA and National Certificate in Dairy Science 1994-1995

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy

Other equipment experience

Have driven tractors on mainly farm roads, Slurry tanker, yard scraping, trailer work and Telehandler used on farm only,

A

While ago but I don't currently hold a certificate

Other livestock experience

Current position of Herdsman Milking 273 cows twice a day through a 24/24 Herringbone parlour with ACRs and ADF . The cows are housed in cubicles on sand bedding. I help with assisting farm owner with drying off cows ready for Calving and monitoring cow health using Sensehub and also Mastitis and treating as necessary. Marking and sorting cows for vet routine/AI serving using auto shedding gate and sorting them out to the correct shed afterwards. Bringing cows in from fields for milking using a quad bike in the summer and also sorting the cows into their respective groups for the sheds during the winter months. All duties are completed in a calm and professional manner. General maintenance and cleaning of parlour and dairy.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

I have a very good knowledge of health and safety. I am a very conscientious worker and try to keep the parlour and dairy as clean as possible with good attention to detail. Remain calm and professional around cattle. I need to provide at least 4 weeks notice My current employers do not know that i am looking at the moment so please contact me first

Age

50

Marital status

Civil partner. No children but have 2 cats.

Nationality

British

Where are you currently living?

Hampshire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Walking, photography, gardening, Driving like to socialise with friends and family when possible.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

5'10" tall 10.5 stone

Relevant health problems

None known

Farming background

Have worked as a herdsman for 4 years 10 months on my current farm supplying a large supermarket through Arla. My experience includes milking, mucking out, yard scraping, cattle handling and cleaning and maintenance of the parlour and dairy to a high standard.

I have previously worked on other dairy farms but had a long gap due to personal reasons and I am now looking for my next career move where I can expand my experience carrying out other tasks associated with dairy farming. I am very keen to gain tractor and telehandler certificates along with AI and foot trimming.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 25/04/2024 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South & South East

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

South England

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×