CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 64338

Experienced Combine harvester/tractor operator and MEng Agricultural Engineering Student looking for a new challenge post graduation. Passionate about farming, food and the environment.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

MSc

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Arable

Other qualifications

I am a mature student at Harper Adams University due to graduate this July with an MEng in Agricultural Engineering. I completed my work placement in Germany as Test/Design Engineer for a leading manufacturer of harvesting machinery, tractors and telescopic handlers.

I have a particular interest in Conservation Agriculture, no-till and strip tillage and modern precision farming techniques such as dual cropping, Controlled Traffic Farming and the associated technologies. I am also interested in more traditional farming systems and am not afraid of using a broom or a steering wheel!

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Combine, Drilling, PA1, PA2, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Other harvesters

Livestock experience

Beef, Pig, Sheep, Poultry

Other equipment experience

I have 5 years experience of operating combine harvesters in the UK, and Australia, in a variety of crops such as cereals, oilseeds, pulses, grasses and vegetable seed production. I have worked with both straw walker and rotary machines from CLAAS, John Deere and Case IH with a variety of rigid, flex and pickup headers. I have also attended an operator training course at CLAAS UK for the CEMOS AUTO equipped, hybrid LEXION machines.

I have experience with RTK CLAAS, John Deere Greenstar, Trimble and CNH Trimble auto-guidence systems.

For my placement year, alongside laboratory testing, I spent 3 months travelling across Germany as part of an advanced-development test team, evaluating early and late stage pre-production combine harvesters and forage harvesters.

I believe in meticulous machinery maintenance including thorough cleaning. To date, I have never had a problem with fire in a machine despite often operating susceptible models in +35 degree heat and regularly receive compliments from technicians regarding machine cleanliness

I also spent 2 seasons drilling with articulated tractors and 12-18m direct drills, 1 season mechanical grape harvesting, 1 season swathing (MacDon) and 2 seasons operating road train lorries and chaser bins.

Other livestock experience

In Australia I worked as a Jackaroo with Marino sheep on a 20,000 Ha station. My tasks included mulesing and moving the animals around the station with motorbikes.

Having grown up on my grandfathers pig farm and working for a mixed farm in Suffolk I have experience with straw based indoor fattening pigs. My tasks including mucking out, health monitoring, medicating and washing downs units.

I also have some limited experience of feeding and husbandry on a family members beef farm with Aberdeen Angus and Sussex cattle and on a friends indoor poultry unit.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

2017 and 2020 Douglas Bomford Scholarship 2018 and 2020 Alamo Group Scholarship (on behalf of McConnell and Bomford Turner) 2019 CLAAS UK Scholarship National committee member of the Institute of Agricultural Engineers (IAgrE)

Age

28

Marital status

Relationship

Nationality

British

Where are you currently living?

Shropshire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I enjoy playing guitar, attending concerts, track racing and off road vehicles.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

5'10", 15 stone

Relevant health problems

Non-smoker. No health issues.

Farming background

I have worked for a number of farms and contractors varying in size and structure and have also completed a harvest season working with agricultural service technicians repairing and maintaining harvesters and tractors at a busy dealership site.

Prior to my university education, my main role in the UK was as a tractor driver and general farm worker in Norfolk for a 6000 acre family business where my duties included haulage, secondary cultivations, manure application, grassland and estate work and machinery maintenance.

My experience in Australia taught me how to fit in quickly within a team and the need for good communication skills, as I would often arrive at jobs in busy periods and need to adapt quickly.

I am not afraid of hard work or getting my hands dirty but I am also happy to spend long periods operating machinery with a consistent attention to detail. I completed my PA1 and PA2 qualification privately but have only completed a small acreage of spraying. I also have a B+E trailer license.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/07/2022 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Any

Where would you like to work?

I am willing to travel anywhere for the right opportunity.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×