CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 57045

Kent Dairy Herdsman 20 years experience looking for work in Southern England. I have had an interest in agriculture from an early age as my school had a farm unit
attached to it. I am reliable, punctual and hard working. I am particularly interested in animal welfare.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

NVQ Level 1,2

Type of farming wanted

Mixed Farming, Other

Other qualifications

CANNINGTON COLLEGE 1994-1996 NVQ AGRICULTURE: Livestock Production: Level 1&2 NATIONAL PROFICIENCY TESTS: Milking, Tractor Driving, Cattle: Beef and Sheep. BRIDGWATER COLLEGE 2011 A.I TEST: Pass

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Calving

Other equipment experience

Tractors: Ford John Deere, Manitou and JCB up to 200HP. Keenan Feeder, Straw Chopper, Scraper Tractor, Telehandler. Parlour equipment experience; Herringbone 16/16, ACR, ADF, davalic cake feeding, heat time. Pre and post dipping cup. All basic parlour maintenance and hygiene is kept to a high standard.

Other livestock experience

Experience Herdsperson up to 20 years, milking 100-500 cows. Regular milking through a Herringbone Parlour 16/16 twice a day. T.M.R feeding with a Keenan Feeder up to twice a day. Caring for up to 70 calves at a time. Detecting and treating mastitis. Heat detection for bullying cows. Drying off cows, and milk fever treatment. Treating any sick cows administering all drugs. Feeding and bedding up. De-horning with the Farmer. Keeping a high standard of husbandry and animal welfare. Attend to calving cows and have delivered many calves. Ive out all yard work from scraping out with a tractor. Bedding up lose yards using a straw chopper, up to twice a day in the winter. Using a cattle trailer for moving cows. Mucking out using telehandler. Some occasional night checks for Farmer when on holiday. All written records re, maintenance of daily diary on treatments and A.I and mastitis.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

I feel that I have gained wide experience, and learnt from others on the general welfare of cattle, and the many aspects of dairying. Above all I am open to new challenges. I require to give a months notice in my current position.

Age

42

Marital status

Young family partner and young baby.

Nationality

British

Where are you currently living?

Somerset

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I enjoy fishing. Spending time with my fiancee and family.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

-

Relevant health problems

-

Farming background

During my time as Herdsperson, milking up to 150 cows (Holstein Friesian) twice daily, together with responsibility for 20 dry cows. I also look after young stock ( at present numbering 50). I was the sole worker at the Farm, being relieved only by the Farmer, when I took my official holiday time. During my time in the farm, I have not had a day off for sickness, and have maintained an unblemished record for punctuality. In my 6th year, I was left in charge of the Farm whilst the Farmer, and his family, went abroad for a holiday. Prior to this position, I worked for a number of farms ( often as a relief worker) starting with a farmer in Upham, Hampshire. I was also employed at a Farm, High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, for 2 years. Leaving to gain further experience. I worked on a Devonshire Farm at East village, Crediton. I only left there when the size of the Herd was reduced. I joined an agency, and worked at Shrewsbury, with the Berwick Herd of Jersey's leaving, to move to the South-East, to my present farm. The move was necessary, as my Father had become seriously ill, and my family needed my support, at the time. The physical distance was too great to stay in the Midlands.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/11/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

-

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×