CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 41241

Working Farm/Estate manager looking for work in the South/West or South

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

BTEC, NDA, NVQ Level 1,2,3, BSc

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Arable, Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

Post graduate diploma in organic farming. Risk assessment, NPTC proficiency tests, Animal transport certificate, Chainsaw crosscut and felling, Welding and fabrication, Telehandler, Off road and 4x4 certificate, First aid, Computer literacy, CEVAS educational visits accredited, Rabbit, rat and mole control with Phostoxin/Talunex, Quad bike certificate, Firearms and shotgun certificates

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Combine, Baler, Ploughing, Drilling, PA1, PA2, PA3, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Other harvesters, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

Diverse tractor driving experience from feeder wagon, straw chopper and general yard work, through to 16 seasons of driving a 24ft, mainly NH, combine and 280 hp tractors for ploughing, cultivating and drilling and mi-till systems. Telehandler experience both side boom and pivot steer.

Other livestock experience

Run the smaller college dairy herd for Carmarthenshire College for 5 years after leaving college, with responsibility for milking, breeding, calf rearing, grazing management and student instruction. Then sole responsibility for a large pedigree and commercial suckler herd, with success in showing and herd competitions. Then working management responsibility for a larger suckler herd and two large sheep flocks on a Cotswold estate, before moving to the position of working manager on a traditional mixed estate in Staffordshire. Following this I spent two years as Arable manager on an estate in Hampshire, before moving to my current position in Somerset where I run a large suckler and beef finishing herd, using modern technology to provide local farm shops and beef boxes

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

Hard working and conscientious who treats the farm, stock and equipment as if it were my own in the quality of care given to it

Age

52

Marital status

Wife and daughter

Nationality

British

Where are you currently living?

Somerset

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Shooting, fishing, walking, reading, diy, working dogs

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

6'1" 16.5 stone second row rugby player

Relevant health problems

None

Farming background

I am currently employed as Cattle Manager a large estate in North Somerset. Here I am responsible for the day to day running of the Stabiliser and pedigree Angus suckler herds, from hands-on stock tasks to all recording and paperwork. I also help out with the sheep flock if required and with the arable unit at peak times. I also run a small shoot on the estate.

Previous to this I was employed as Crops Manager where I am responsible for 2,000acres of diverse combinable and forage crops. I oversee full crop production from planning through to harvest, purchases and sales, environmental schemes and all legislative issues to ensure the department is compliant. I have gained a lot from the big business structure that is in place, such as a management training scheme, people management, health and safety and in-house training that you would expect from a Waitrose owned business. Being a partner in the business, as all employees are, makes you focus on ownership of the business with regard financial and reputational aspects.

Prior to this, I was employed as working farms and estate manager on a grade 1 listed, 4,000 acre, family owned, mixed estate comprising the in-hand farm and woodland, arboretum, walled and formal gardens, let farms and residential properties, wedding/corporate venue, shoot, fishing and canal moorings. Here, I was fully responsible for a staff of nine, and all day to day running of the in-hand farm, including a large sheep flock, small suckler cow herd, arable, grazing and ancient, Capability Brown designed parkland and pools, along with a staff of 3 on the farm, where my day could consist of anything from practical, hands-on work, such as lambing to combining to conducting educational visits; and as I have no secretarial support, general office work and statutory paperwork, such as SFP and ELS/HLS, budgets and record keeping ,physical and financial planning and all purchases and sales and dealing with outside bodies, such as RPA, NE etc. I have overseen a major 4 year renovation of a grade 1 listed stable block and model farm, dealing closely with planners, archaeologists, conservation bodies and specialist builders.

The renovated stable block, as mentioned above, had a child friendly toilet block and teaching room added as part of a Natural England funding scheme, and we use this for hosting school trips, mainly through the Country Trust, and on the back of this I have completed my CEVAS accreditation. I gain a lot of satisfaction from these visits and appreciate how important they are to the children, some of whom have never been in the countryside previously.

I would like to think that with my experience in organic systems, my view to farming is a sympathetic one, and like to view on a holistic level with regards to integrating good farming and environmental practices, which appears to have become important in light of the latest CAP reform.

I was also responsible for the general estate work and oversee the estate staff of 3 full time and one part time in the extensive woodland and gardens, the gamekeeper, the gardener, house keeper and overseeing contractors and inspectors for specialised operations. I was a key holder for Chillington Hall and as such I was responsible for its care and security. I suppose my role with regards to the estate side of things could be described as the man on the ground for the agents in dealing with tenants and issues arising with the various properties and lettings, as diverse as canal moorings and garage services to co-ordinating film crews, in setting up contracts, payments, health and safety etc.

You will see from my c.v. that I have been involved in traditional estates for quite a proportion of my working life ,and very much enjoy the range and diversity of the enterprises, and understanding how all aspects of the estate must combine and gel to make a successful and enjoyable place to work and represent, and in doing so, have always had a good relationship with the owner families in doing more than my role would perhaps cover, such as airport runs, unblocking kitchen sinks on Christmas morning and carrying an elderly owner to bed every night for the last 12 months of his life. I would like to think that my experiences from these different estates, my formal agricultural qualifications and my can-do attitude would stand me in good stead for most eventualities presented to me and I am always ready to tackle a new challenge. I am able to work by myself or as part of a team, and enjoy stock work, arable work or general estate work in equal measure, I hope reflected in successes in awards for crops, suckler herds and sheep flocks in previous positions.

I would like to think myself hard working, conscientious, presentable and approachable and like to look on my role as if it were my own farm, and correspondingly keep it safe and tidy as I like things to be, and think of myself as a handyman, in being able to turn my hand to most things and able to think out a problem and fix it. I am able to work on my own or supervise and arrange work from students to full-time staff. My wife and daughter are supportive and equally as involved and understanding of country matters as myself, my wife, also has an agricultural qualification, but has worked as a teaching assistant at secondary level, and as P.A. to the owners with wedding and events planning at Chillington, and my daughter, who works as a legal secretary, is very into her horses! We make a good team.

I would like to thank you for the time in reading through my covering letter and would be glad to answer any questions you may have of me by phone or e-mail.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/12/2020 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South West

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

South of m4

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×