CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 40949

Shepherd/Stockman currently employed in a hill farm looking for a more active career challenge. Work preferably in Scotland but will consider relocating.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

NVQ Level 1,2,3

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

HNC in Agriculture (Scotland's Rural College) completed in 2019
Post-graduation in Environmental Studies (University of the Algarve, Portugal) completed in 2010
Under-graduation Degree in Geography (University of Porto, Portugal) completed in 2008

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Fencing

Livestock experience

Beef, Sheep, Lambing

Other equipment experience

Use of tractor, supported by a tractor driving course organised and held by Lantra Awards, to perform several tasks in farm; i.e. feeding bales of silage to stock, transporting bales of straw to lambing pens, load buckets with tarmac to fill potholes on the farm road, scraping the cow shed, rowing silage fields, moving silage bales from the field, amongst others.

Repairing some fencing around the farm through replacing posts and/or post and rail when necessary.

Also have trailer licence (cat B+E), ATV and UTV driving course.

Other livestock experience

Experience mainly on all tasks related to sheep, from lambing to gathering, drenching/worming, checking/treat feet as well as perform other preventive health checks and care . On the system where I presently work lambing occurs outdoor from April 15 onwards and recently a rotational grazing system has been introduced in order to graze the fields more efficiently and get the best nutrition out of the grass.

In terms of beef I oversee the welfare of a small herd of Highland Cattle. I have previous experience of helping to perform routine tasks in a bigger comercial herd, like scrapping, bedding, feeding amongst others, when the cows were housed for the winter as well as with calving outdoor. When needed I helped the team intervening. I also help to perform another tasks related to the beef enterprise like worming, tagging calves, weighing calves and cows as well as condition scoring them.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

Interested in native sheep breeds and conservation grazing. Also have trailer licence B + E.

Age

36

Marital status

Married with four children.

Nationality

Portuguese

Where are you currently living?

Angus

First language

Portuguese

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I mainly spend time with my family as well as training my dogs.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

Medium built, 5ft 9 and 10.3st.

Relevant health problems

N/A

Farming background

Although I do not come from a farming background I came into farming due my interest in sheepdogs. I decided to take a course in agriculture to learn how to handle livestock so I could help any farmer willing to let me train my dogs.

After the course started and visiting some farms I developed an interested in farming and seen an opportunity to my professional career. That resulted in spending my time off from my previous work helping in a sheep farm in Midlothian in order to get some experience as well as going to a farm in Argyll and Bute, for couple weeks, to give some assistance during their lambing and learn from the experience. My hard work and persistence paid off and I managed to get an opportunity in getting into the industry and being able to progress.

At the moment I am looking for a new opportunity that would allow me to have a more daily contact and work with livestock and not only when the sheep are gathered from the hill.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/12/2020 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Preferably in Scotland but I will relocate anywhere in the UK for the right job/challenge.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×