CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 39464

I have worked in various fields of Agriculture all my life on farms throughout Devon and Somerset I much prefur to work with milking cows and youngstock ;gaining training and wide experience in stockwork. I have undertook Artificial Insemination Training and achieved..

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

NCA, NVQ Level 1,2, NDA, City and Guilds

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

City & Guilds 1 & 2 (Agriculture), Farm Water Supply (NPTC), Tractor Driving and Handling(NPTC),National Certificate in Agriculture (1,2 & 3, Welfare & Transit of Livestock, Telescopic Handlers Certificate, Chainsaw Certificate (Part 1 & 2 - including up to date refresher)Basic & Emergency First Aid, Sheep Dog Handlers Training, Artificial Insemination (Dairy) Herdman's & Foot Trimming Courses (Vale Vets) A Study of Dairy Cow Management A 2 Year Degree Level Course. Foot trimming advanced loading course. Safe use of vet medication. Dry off course.

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Baler, Ploughing, Drilling, Tracked Machine, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Pig, Goat, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

I possess a good working understanding of a variety of different machinery having driven diggers and swing shovels, ploughs and used power harrows, worked ground and drilled crops and carried out grassland work for silage and hay. I have also used loaders, hauled loads, feeder wagons (TMR) and cut hedges.

Other livestock experience

During the last 35 years I have gained wide experience in most aspects of animal husbandry, including beef cattle, dairy and calves as well as sheep/goats. My references including those from recent employers and Agricultural College Leaders, show my care of livestock is of a very high standard due to my good observational skills and quick and effective treatment of sick animals.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

I entered the Herdsman of the Year Competition 2010.I used to keep my own calves and finish them as barley bulls & kept a small flock of polled Dorset ewes

Age

51

Marital status

I am single and have a 6 year old son called James. James comes to stay every other weekend and I have him every Monday too.

Nationality

British

Where are you currently living?

Somerset/Devon/Dorset

First language

British

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I enjoy spending time with my family, carpentry, walking, gardening and playing squash

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

I am 6ft 2 inches and weigh 16 stone. I am physically fit.

Relevant health problems

No. I don't smoke.

Farming background

I was brought up on a farm where my Dad was a herdsman; being always interested in farming I was involved in this kind of work from a very early age. After spending two years at Bicton College as a student, I have worked in varied areas of agriculture all my life, apart from 3 years when I ran my own landscaping business with one full-time employee. I have worked on mainly large farms (both organic and conventional) with day to day responsibility for beef cattle, sheep and dairy herds.I enjoyed being herd manager to Bicton College It is a pleasure to pass on my experience to the next generation of herds people. Every day is a school day I'm always learning. At 46 I took on to learn about dairy cow management as I wanted to understand what went into the costs of each ltr.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/08/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South West

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Devon/Somerset/Dorset

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×