CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 34224

With a passion for livestock with over a decade of experience. Taking a progressive approach, I continually strive to improve the health, wellbeing and productivity of the Livestock under my charge. My "can-do" attitude and ability to adapt ensure I tackle any challenge head-on.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

NVQ Level 1,2,3

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

Lantra award - Rough Terrain Telescopic lift truck (pallet and bulk).
Lantra award - Sit astride ATV all terrain use (Experienced operator).
Lantra award - Tractor (Agriculture) 4 attachments.
Level 2 award - Health and safety in the workplace.
Emergency First Aid in the Workplace for Forestry Level 3 (VTQ)
Mastering Medicines

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Other harvesters, Fencing

Livestock experience

Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

Mowing, rowing up, tedding, rolling, cultivation and grain/bale cart. I have experience using various straw choppers for bedding up, Rota feeder, Keenan TMR and Toppers.

Other livestock experience

Managing all aspects of a herd of Pedigree Aberdeen Angus and a flock of 250 Lleyn based ewes, that I transformed from a low health, under performing herd/flock to a high health, with KPIs in place to monitor performance and productivity. Working to Red tractor, CHeCS and PSGHS standards.

Introduced and managed Premium Cattle Health Scheme, with the assistance of our vet. I identified that we had a number of health issues present in the herd, through hard culling and vaccination, these were removed or controlled.

Introduced Pelvic measuring of maiden heifers, reducing assisted calvings. Resulting in no cattle requiring caesareans while under my charge.

Collated and reported Breedplan measurements via the AA Cattle Society.

Reduced calving duration to five weeks with 80% calving within the first three weeks.

Managed the rotational grazing system with daily moves of the cattle.

Sheep flock achieved MV accreditation .

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

So that my references aren't inundated with unsolicited calls, I will only give details to employers of the positions that I have applied for.

Age

51

Marital status

Wife

Nationality

British

Where are you currently living?

Oxfordshire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

When I have time I like to trail run, also like to enter trail races usually 7-10km distances

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

5'11 13stone 10lbs

Relevant health problems

none

Farming background

2024- to date, Managing all aspects of a 200ac farm, Herd of 35 BSH and 40 Llanwenog ewes youngstock finishing on grass for meat boxes - Leaving because the rosy picture painted in the job description and interview wasn't what the day-to-day reality of the job turned out to be. 2019 - 2024 Stockman, Herd of 130 AA & BG Sucklers and 250 lleyn ewes in complete management of both - Left due to redundancy. 2017-2019 Stockman, Herd of 800 Devon X and Blond X suckler herd with one other stockman - Left to live closer to to wife's mother who was ill. 2010-2017 Contract Shepherd, Dedicated to providing managed shepherding and livestock services to a number of clients in complete control - Left to gain more cattle experience. 2008-2010 Owner IT consultancy business - Left due to downturn in business due to recession. 2000-2008 Production Manager Telecoms company started as engineer finished as manager - Left to pursue my own IT business 1999-2000 Security Guard - Left to pursue IT career. 1989-1999 Scots Guards, Infantry - Left to start a family.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 29/07/2024 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South West

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Wife has family in both Devon and Berkshire, we are looking at jobs along the south of England from Birmingham down

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×