CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 27213

Experienced lamber looking for weekend lambing work January - April 2022 in Somerset/Gloucestershire.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

MSc, BSc

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

12 GCSEs, 3 A Levels, BSc, MSc

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Ploughing, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Lambing

Other equipment experience

Experience operating telehandlers, dumpers and small amount of experience using mini-diggers for agriculture and construction.

Tractor driving: wheat carting, ploughing and rolling (4-6 weeks)

Powertools (grinders, circular saws, mixers etc.)

Other livestock experience

Sheep: six weeks lambing on Lowther Estate in Lake District (5000 sheep indoors) April to mid-May 2018; managed a shed of 1000 sheep. Additional lambing experience: one month of lambing in March 2017 on a farm in Worcestershire. I'm confident to lamb alone - delivering lambs including difficult births, lamb/ewe care, feeding, bedding and moving livestock. I have a good understanding of how to manage a lambing shed well to minimise lamb deaths and keep a high level of hygiene. Other general sheep experience: five months working for a contractor in Australia: mustering on quad bikes and using dogs, de-horning, lamb marking, drafting, drenching and branding.

Dairy: Two months in New Zealand, mustering on quadbike and using dogs, milking, maintaining milking shed hygiene, cattle health-checking and treating mastitis, injuries etc. Beef cattle: one week in Australia, mustering on quadbike, drafting, branding, castrating and de-horning calves.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

N/A

Age

29

Marital status

N/A

Nationality

British-English

Where are you currently living?

Bristol

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Exercise, guitar, reading, time with friends. I like to travel when I can.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

5 ft 10 and 75kg

Relevant health problems

N/A

Farming background

Born and raised in rural Somerset, and have been interested in and enjoyed farming from an early age. I have worked on livestock and arable farms in Australia, New Zealand and the UK, with two lambing seasons under my belt. I work full-time in forest conservation now, but I love lambing so I'm hoping to secure weekend work this season.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 20/01/2022 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South West

Type of job

Seasonal

Where would you like to work?

Somerset, Gloucestershire (within 1 hours drive of Bristol would be ideal).

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×