CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 23651

Experienced beef stockman looking for work with cattle or livestock. Hampshire/Dorset/Somerset area.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

BTEC

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

Diploma in work-based Agriculture Level 1 - Pass. NPTC level 2 in Tractor Driving & Related Operations. NPTC level 2 certificate of Competence in Forklift Truck Operations

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Pig, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

My tractor experience is mainly within livestock use such as bail cart, rolling, topping, feeder mixer wagon, straw chopper muck cart and scraping out! The biggest tractor I have driven is a 714 Fendt what had a chip in up to 180 horse power. loader experience work has really just been stacking bales and unloading pallet off lorries. I have also passed my trailer licence January 2017.

Other livestock experience

My first experience of working with sheep and lambing was helping my Grandad with his 50 sheep and also on my friends farm of 300 Pedigree Texel sheep. I worked in a dairy of 600 Jersey cows and 300 off spring for two years. I have worked on an outdoor pig unit for nearly two years. This included general rearing of 500 pigs with a 3 batch system where we farrowed 100 in each batch. After a year I was promoted to being in charge of 2 members of staff. Upon being made redundant I then took employment on a dairy farm where I was responsible for looking after and rearing calves. I was also in charge of grass management. I have experience of handling my Grandad's Pedigree Hereford which I show at agricultural shows. Following on from this I have looked after 200 Pedigree Beef short horns together with 500 calves.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

I am looking to gain further experience within livestock and arable work

Age

26

Marital status

I am single without partner or children

Nationality

British

Where are you currently living?

Hampshire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Hobbies include Football, music, young farmers and socializing with friends

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

-

Relevant health problems

None know

Farming background

I have always been passionate of working on a farm with animals since I was a child and helped my Grandad on his farm working with sheep and pedigree Hereford. I attended Sparsholt College and whilst at college I worked part-time on a dairy/arable farm to which I became a full-time employee after finishing college. My experienced included general tractor and assisting in the dairy. I then moved jobs to work on an outdoor pig unit which was a 3 week batch and farrowing unit any I was in charge of the welfare of the pigs but sadly I was made redundant. After that I was employed temporary on a dairy farm for a year and I was responsible for looking after the calves and cows included feeding, cleaning and bedding up . I was also in charge of the general maintenance of the farm including fencing. After this I moved to Oxford where I am employed as an assistant stockman/manager on a Pedigree beef Shorthorns farm looking after 200 cows and about 500 calves. I am responsible for the day to day welfare care of the herd, including feeding,cleaning and bedding up. I take care of the calving, de-horning and injecting medication when needed. I also do topping, rolling, muck spreading, feeder wagon and drenching. When I am not looking after the cattle I do general maintenance around the farm which includes fencing and during the harvest season helping out with bale cart.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 31/05/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South & South East

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Hampshire/Dorset/Somerset/Wiltshire/Surrey/Oxford/Devon/Cornwall

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×