CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 103456

I am an enthusiastic, motivated and dedicated individual. I am described as hardworking, and a bubbly person.
Outside of work I enjoy being in the country side walking with my dog.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

City and Guilds

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

MERIT MERIT DISTINCTION level 3 extended technical diploma in animal management. Specialising in farm management for my 2nd year.
GCSE or equivalent in Business Studies- C, PE- Distinction, Psychology- D, Maths- 5, English- 5, Scienc-5/4, geography-4

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Not listed

Livestock experience

Dairy, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

I have limited equipment experience but can drive a scraper tractor and use a telehandler.

Other livestock experience

I have mainly worked on dairys with the biggest herd being 750.

I have also worked with beef and sheep.

Personal information
Sex

Female

Other Information

No

Age

22

Marital status

No

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

West Sussex

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Walk the dog, socialise

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

-

Relevant health problems

No

Farming background

September 23- present

Deputy manager at a wildlife hospital

My key responsibilities here include managing all the staff and volunteers

Cleaning and feeding all the animals

Diagnosing incoming patients and giving them the appropriate treatments

Medicating animals as needed.

Giving members of the public advice over the phone and in person.

Ensuring the hospital is being kept to a good standard

Rearing young animals such as hedgehogs, birds, cubs, rabbits etc.

updating the database when needed.

march23- September23

Herds person and calf reader

My job role here mainly included milking 680 Holsteins on a 50 rotary parlour, including start up/ wash down.

Calf rearing is another big part of the role I play including colostrum, trough feeding, bedding up, weighing, weaning, treatments, tagging etc.

Computer work such as using uniform to input data

Drying off once a week, using sealant and antibiotic tubes.

Signed off by vet for disbudding

Completing my safe use of medication course with garston vets.

Attending a course 1 day a month for 5 months with Garston vets including the topics of, young stock, downer cows, calving cows, drying off, mastitis, fertility and foot trimming.

may22-march23

My job role is a herdsperson

my main roles include:

calf starter + rearing, when calves are born I ensure that they receive their colostrum which is vital to their immune system strengthening and I train them to drink from a trough. I can also tube claves.

Milking a herd of 600 Holstein Friesian cows on a 20/40 swing over parlour, starting up and washing down.

I also drive the scraper tractor to scrape out the yards to keep them clean, I can also drive the Tele handler to muck out pens, bed pens up, push food up etc - but do NOT have my ticket.

Other tasks I do include bedding up by hand, using lime on cubicles and straw to reduce disease risk, moving calves using quad bike, giving some medications, assisting with calvings.

August 21- April 22

I started my job roleas an assistant Herdsperson and calf rearer, where I would milk a herd of 150 Holstein Friesian cattle twice a day in a 12/24 swing over parlour. This included getting the cattle from the field if out, and starting up / washing down the parlour.

During the calving season I would rear the calves on milk twice a day right up until they were weaned.

Yard duties I would also do is scraping the yard to ensure it is clean.

Other roles I would take on were: Bedding up pens by hand, feeding nuts to young stock, doing water/ haylage for young stock, moving calves using the quad bike.

I also helped with the lambing season, which included rearing any lambs that were struggling / abandoned three times a day on bottled milk, bedding up pens including water, nuts and haylage. Mucking out and disinfecting pens before moving more in to ensure low disease risk. Moving lambs and ewes to different fields / inside. Checking all groups multiple times a day.

2015- Jan 21

I started volunteering for a wildlife hospital in 2015 and in 2017 I was employed on a part time basis at weekends with extra hours during half terms. After completing college at Sparsholt, I am now a full-time member of staff. My duties include caring for and cleaning out many different types of animals on a daily basis, daily health checks, giving oral medication, dealing with the public, admitting and accessing wildlife bought in by them. I also carry out initial health checks and log new patients onto the system, answering telephone calls and giving advice to the public. Taking on and training new volunteers and responding to emergency callouts. I also help with events and selling items to raise money for the charity.

Animals dealt with on a daily basis:

Fox, badger, deer, hedgehog, bird of prey, fowl, all British birds and many others.

At the wildlife hospitalI also gained the experience of working in a reception type roll. This included answering phone calls for animal enquiries and advising the caller on the most suitable plan or treatment for the animal. when patients were brought into the hospital reception I would also take the patient in, and ask the member of pubic to fill in a form for GDPR, and to get a basic understanding of where and what situation they found the animal in.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 30/07/2024 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South & South East

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Dairy/ calf rearing / beef/ sheep

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×