CV reference number: 64577
CV Headline

36 year old farmer/milker looking for a position in East Devon. DIY AI proficient

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

DIY AI qualification

Equipment experienceTractor, Telehandler/fork lift, Fencing
Other equipment experience

Scrapping out, feeding up, mucking out, field work (all aspects of silaging). Working mainly on Claas tractors but also others. Some telehandler experience

Livestock experienceDairy, Beef, Pig, Sheep, Lambing
Other livestock experience

Farming partnership (100 head dairy hers and followers) - 10 years All aspects of farm and herd management Calf rearing and calving DIY AI proficient with conception rate of 60%+ Running a flock of 200 ewes and lambing for four years.

Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture
Relevant health problems
Other Information
Marital status

I have a wife called Jenny and two daughters; Beatrix (3 years old) and Tabitha (1.5 years old)

Where are you currently living?Exeter/Devon
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

I have been working in partnership with my parents for the last 12 years (unofficially 20 years) as an equal partner in the farming business. Up until 2015 we ran a 100 head dairy herd plus followers of pedigree Holstein and cross bred milking cows. I took equal responsibility for the day to day running of the farm along with herd management and grazing schedules. This also extended to record keeping of daily events and medicine records and supervising and readying the farm for inspections. In 2006 I undertook the DIY AI training and since then I have been performing this role on a weekly basis and our conception rate has increased significantly to 60%+. I can identify when the animal is bulling and when would be the best time to carry out the AI for the best results. Whilst working along side my parents I have introduced some different methods and procedures to enhance the farms profitability and proficiency and am always looking for better ways to do things. Some such examples would be;strip grazing the cows rather than just letting them run the field to sustain better grazing and more efficient use of the grass we had, undertaking AI training as cutting down outsourcing costs, bringing in testing for mastitis cases so as treatment is tailored to the specific strain rather than a blanket treatment improving recovery rates and re-occurrence. Whilst working with my parents I milked in an abreast parlour twice daily, every day. Since we sold the milking herd in 2015 I have been relief milking which has given me experience in herringbone parlours also. I also undertook the running repairs on our parlour and the water system. I have tractor experience in scrapping out, feeding up, mucking out and also field work including all aspects of silaging. I am a safe and proficient tractor driver and have driven old and new examples as well as operating telehandlers. We would routinely have the vet for herd health checks but I am proficient in wash outs and foot trimming, although we would call in professionals for the trickier foot trimming cases. I also have much experience of calving both difficult calvings and letting nature take its course. I do pride myself on taking the upmost care of the animals in my charge and like any farmer would see them all fed and happy before I sat down for my tea. I do also have experience of working with sheep as for 4 years myself and my wife ran a flock of 200 ewes and lambed them also. Since selling the milking cows my parents now run a heifer rearing business and the only involvement I have is to do the AI for them. I started a milk delivery business on the back of selling the milking cows which has bee going for 5 years but unfortunately is not bringing in the income we would like so this sadly has to come to an end. I am looking for a herdsman placement that I can settle into with my family and express my passion and commitment in the role as I have missed the farm work and cows over the time I have been away from it. I am not afraid of hard wok and in fact thrive on it and I am used to doing 60+ hours a week.

AvailabilityStart: 14/10/2018, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionSouth West
Where would you like to work?Exeter/Devon
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.