CV reference number: 45276
CV Headline

Young, experienced farm worker looking for work on a Dairy/beef/sheep/arable farm on the west of the central belt in Scotland. I am are looking for a job with flexible 5 days a week, within 40 mins of Glasgow QEUH hospital. This is to suit shared childcare with my wife's job as a nurse. 

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsCity and Guilds
Other qualifications

Junior Certification Leaving Certification

Equipment experienceTractor, Fencing
Other equipment experience

From a young age I have always been working around Equipment and machinery, jobs like spreading fertiliser, feeding out to herds, general tractor/loader work and farm maintenance. I also used a quad/2 wheeler bike safely to travel around farm and herd the cows for milking.

Livestock experienceDairy, Calving
Other livestock experience

I completed a A.I DIY course in 2012. When at home during mating I have successfully AI cows on my fathers farm. Recently I've attended a 2 day Cattle foot trimming course, where I learned the basics of foot trimming.

Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence, international, tractor
Personal information
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture

5.11 foot 12 stone

Relevant health problems
Other Information

I am unable to upload my CV but I can email directly if requested. If interested I will be able to mail my CV.

Marital status

My wife, works as a paediatric nurse in Royal Hospital for Children at the QEUH in Glasgowl and would hope to travel from a farm to there if accommodation is available on farm. In addition to her nursing role she has also gained experience in calf rearing and regularly relief milked. We have one daughter.

Where are you currently living?Scotland
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

Hello. My name is Joe and I'm 28 years of age. I grew up in Ireland on a family run 90-acre dairy farm milking 55 cows twice a day, using a Herringbone milking parlour with 8 cows on each side. When growing up on the farm my involvement was everything from caring for the herd to working with machinery. Recently I've worked for 10 months on a dairy farm in New Zealand with my wife. Currently I'm working on a dairy farm in Alexandria, West Dunbartonshire, where I've been for the past 22 months. Reference from previous employer below: 17/07/16 To whom it may concern; ​We had the privilege of employing Joe and Heather from March 2015 to February 2016. Joe has proven to be one of the best farm hands we have employed Some of Joes duties included, but were not limited to; getting cows in, milking unassisted, plant hygiene, administering animal health treatments, feeding out, assisting calving cows, etc. We had no hesitation in leaving Joe and Heather to run the farm while we enjoyed weekends away. Joe is capable of working alone, is punctual, reliable, honest, polite, hardworking, a great communicator, enthusiastic, driven and always willing to learn more. I have no doubt he will be successful in his chosen field of work. We found Joe and Heather to be house proud, keeping their house and section clean and tidy. We would highly recommend Joe to future employers, and will follow his progress with keen interest. 


In my spare time I enjoy playing Gaelic Football and boxing, over all staying fit.

AvailabilityStart: 29/09/2018, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionScotland
Where would you like to work?
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.