CV reference number: 22225
CV Headline

English milker/herdsman/stockman looking for a permanent herdsman/milking/stockman position. 

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

BA Hons. I am currently completing a distance learning management course leading to an NCFE level 3 covering areas including computer applications, managing livestock, pastures and crop management, farm planning and water management.

Equipment experienceTractor, Tracked machine, Telehandler/fork lift, Fencing
Other equipment experience

Low loader TMR Non loader mounted bedding machinery e.g. Bobman.  Other relevant cubicle housed machinery, straw chopper, etc.

Livestock experienceDairy, Beef, Goat, Sheep, Lambing, Calving, Poultry
Other livestock experience

Assisted calving when necessary, feeding and stomach bagging where necessary, tagging, extra teat removal, dis-budding, vaccinating, calcium bolus, mastitis treatment (tubes/injections), detection and prevention, hoof trimming, bulling/heat detection, TB testing, bedding, scraping, foot-bathing, movement records, passports, fencing, cubicle maintenance, parlour maintenance, and all other day to day herd management and farm work. Sheep and lamb work including lambing.

Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence, international
Personal information
First languageenglish
Other languages
Pen picture

5'8" 12 stone

Relevant health problems


Other Information

I have worked both abroad and around the UK on dairy farms, the majority of which have been either part of the year or fully cubicle housed.  My herdsman experience has been varied.

Marital status

I have a wife and two young daughters

Where are you currently living?Chedworth, Gloucestershire
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

I grew up on my parents mixed farm in Warwickshire, learning key skills on tractors and other machinery, and developing my interest in animal rearing, in particular with calves and lambs. I spent two years working as herdsman for an English dairy in Bulgaria and then returned to the UK for my wife to be close to her sick father. I have since then worked on temporary or fixed term relief herdsman contracts and on a variety of farms as relief milker whilst finding permanent work in my area.  I have worked on herd sizes ranging from 180 to 400+ in a variety of different size and style of parlour from 9/18 up to 30/60 both alone and accompanied. Most recently I have worked milking twice a day on a 300 pedigree Holstein farm 15/30 rapid exit parlour after working for two years on a 180 pedigree Holstein farm in Cheshire and for two years on an organic farm in Devon with 180 - 200 black and white cows. I have two young primary school aged children and I am looking for a long term, permanent position, offering all aspects of animal husbandry.


I enjoy spending time with my family at home, walking in forest land, rearing rare breed chickens and sheep. I particularly enjoy walking with my springer spaniel dogs.

AvailabilityStart: 10/03/2018, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionSouth West
Where would you like to work?anywhere
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.