CV reference number: 73497
CV Headline

25 year old female looking for dairy work in the West-Midland or South-West.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

2:1 BSc with (Hons) in Agriculture- Food with Business and Marketing from Harper Adams University.

Equipment experienceTractor
Other equipment experience

Driven tractors for yard duties e.g. Scraper tractor

Livestock experienceDairy, Calving
Other livestock experience

I have experience in the Dairy industry, working in New Zealand milking 840 cows for 4 months from November 2018 and assisting in daily tasks including parlour hygiene, fencing and calf feeding. The parlour was a 65 rotary. On returning to the UK in February 2019, I was a full time milker for 3 months, miking 600 dairy cows three times per day on shifts. This was using a 25 per side herring bone with automatic cup removers. The role was similar to New Zealand, but included tractor driving and yard duties, and assisting with calving.

Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
Profile Picture
SexFemale
Age25
NationalityBritish
First languageEnglish
Other languagesNA
Pen picture

5"5

Relevant health problems
Other Information

Harper Adams University, 2017-2018 Volunteered for organising two of the major events at university – Christmas and Summer Ball. This involved weekly meetings and working with a group of people not previously known, whilst juggling final year work. I was part of the decoration committee; deciding a theme, designing the layout of the ball and organising the group to ensure decorations were correct and creating seating out of pal-lets. Summer 2012 Conservation work in the Mexican rainforest as part of Operation Wallacea (www.opwall.com/). The trip was funded individually through charity events organised in the local area, such as jazz and poetry evening in my local village hall. Included in the trip was helping the local wildlife and collect-ing data for local conversation workers. January 2013 – April 2013 Independently travelling around the North and South Island of New Zealand, organising backpack-ers, activities and flights. This was a unique experience and broadened my view of society and the different cultures that exist, showcasing skills of being able to adapt in any situation. October 2018 – January 2019 Travelled to India for a month with four friends, starting in New Deli and finishing in Kochi. India gave me an appreciation for the UK and whiteness true poverty. After travelled to New Zealand, and worked on a dairy farm milking 840 cows.

Marital status
Where are you currently living?Herefordshire
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

Fruit Farm, Bromyard: July- September 2018 My role entailed carrying out quality checks including; shelf life testing, pressure/brix testing, intake reports, and ensuring the fruit met supermarket specification. I also printed labels for punnets and tray ends, which was highly responsible as orders could be rejected if incorrect. The job was fast pace and situations changed quickly - production orders could change and immediately require new labels. I learnt to stay calm in any situation, whilst upholding high standards of work. Harper Adams University, Warden of halls of residence: 2017-2018 Lived with Fresher’s for a year in halls of residence, being responsible for residents and communi-cating with student services, cleaning departments and members of staff at the university. Also or-ganised activities during fresher week, often taking control of 50 fresher’s, ensuring they were in the correct place at the correct time. Weekly duties included being on call, which could involve being called out at 4am, dealing with drunk people and performing first aid in highly stressful situations.  Mevagissey, Cornwall: July 2016 - July 2017 During my placement year at university I headed marketin, a Cornish-based company that produces jams and preserves for catering and retail markets. I was the first student and employee they had ever hired. I set the company up on social media, managed it and prepared a long term plan. Attending trade shows was key and following up customer enquiries. Day to day I took phone orders and prepared them. I created a simple, efficient delivery system. During my time there, company sales increased by 30%. The job taught me to take responsibility for my own work, be self-reliant and to conduct myself in a friendly and professional manner.

Hobbies

Sport: Horse riding. – competing at BSJA standard in show jumping and cross country jumping. Horses are a lot of responsibility requiring daily attention and regular rides. Saturdays were spent helping at a local riding stables.

Preferences
AvailabilityStart: 01/07/2019, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionWest Midlands
Where would you like to work?Herefordshire
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.