CV reference number: 67792
CV Headline

My name is Charlie. I am 33 years old and I have been around sheep all my life. I am ideally looking for a shepherding job but I have lots of farming experience and I would be happy to consider other positions. For the right job, my family and I are happy to relocate.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

University of life!

Equipment experienceTractor, Combine, Baler, Tracked machine, Telehandler/fork lift, Other harvesters, Fencing, Ploughing, Drilling
Other equipment experience

Driven all sorts of tractors from quad tracks to small john deeres

Livestock experienceBeef, Goat, Sheep, Lambing, Calving
Other livestock experience

Contract shepherd - 15 years experience managing flocks 2500+ sheep Sheep shearer - 15 years experience shearing, had my own sheep shearing business where I employed teams of shearers too Cattle - more than confident to work with cattle Sheep - grading lambs for sale

Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
SexMale
Age33
NationalityEnglish
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture

95kg 5"8'

Relevant health problems

None

Other Information
Marital status

Partner and nine month old daughter

Where are you currently living?Hampshire
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

Started my first shepherding job when I was 19, I was running 1600 ewes across two farms plus rented grazing in Wiltshire. I did that for two years and then I moved to New Zealand where I worked shepherding, shearing and tractor driving. I was there for six months. When I got back to the UK I was contract shepherding, shearing and fencing for a couple of years. Then I took on a contract in the Cotswolds for a company for 7 years, running their 2600 organic ewes over three farms plus rented grazing. During my time there they reduced their sheep numbers to 1100, so as I did some tractor driving and fencing too. At the same time I was the contract shepherd doing the work for their 2500 north country ewe lambs. In 2015 I moved to Newbury to look after my fathers contracting business of 2000 sheep plus his own as he was unwell and unable to work. This was for just over two years. Then I started my own flock of 400 alongside contracting, shearing and fencing. I lost the ground so I had to sell all my sheep unfortunately. I’ve done a lot of harvest in my time, I still like to do a bit just to keep on top of the new technology. I have three well trained sheep dogs that will round up 1-3000 sheep in a field! I do a fair bit of tree work, digger driving and welding. I have been around shoots all my life, helping game keepers and beating. I love shooting and have a few rifles and shotguns of my own.

Hobbies

Rugby! Mountain biking and surfing

Preferences
AvailabilityStart: 09/06/2019, Finish: 01/01/2040
Type of jobAny
Preferred regionAnywhere
Where would you like to work?
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.