CV reference number: 62556
CV Headline

I’m a 24-year-old biology graduate seeking a demanding and varied outdoors role. I have trained as an assistant warden with the RSPB where I used tractors, chainsaws and brushcutters etc. to perform habitat management.  

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsCity and Guilds
Other qualifications

1st AID at Work(St Johns Ambulance) Ground Based Chainsaw operation (City & Guilds) Tractor Driving with Trailed, Mounted Implements and Basic Loader (Lantra) Brushcutter- Maintenance and Operation (Lantra) Off Road Vehicle Operating (4x4) (Lantra)

Equipment experienceTractor
Other equipment experience

I have experience driving tractors, including using a loader and trailer to transport gravel for path maintenance. I have regularly used brushcutters and chainsaws in difficult terrain to perform habitat management such a reed cuts and coppicing. I've also used reciprocating BCS mowers, wacker plates, generators and various other power tools. I enjoy performing machine maintenance myself and have an aptitude for troubleshooting and solving mechanical issues.

Livestock experienceNot listed
Other livestock experience

I have experience, moving errant cattle and sheep on RSPB reserves. I have also worked to install infrastructure including, repairing fences, electric fences and 'invisible fences', in order to manage stocks and control grazing pressure. I have liaised with graziers to I am confident and enjoy handling livestock.

Type of farming wantedMainly Arable
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence, tractor
Personal information
First languageEnglish
Other languages-
Pen picture

I am 6ft tall and weigh 75kg.

Relevant health problems


Other Information

In my previous role with the RSPB I loved the sense of camaraderie when working within a small team, and felt pride to wear my uniform, leading volunteers and conversing with the public. I am seeking a varied and challenging role in which I can enjoy taking responsibility for my work and feel invested in the team and site.

Marital status

I have a girlfriend who in her final year of University in Liverpool.

Where are you currently living?Kent
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

I graduated from Sheffield and entered a full time wardening internship with the RSPB. Within this role I gained the experience and training to manage reserves for conservation value. I particularly enjoyed the practical nature of this role and have gained many transferable skills that I want to put to use. I have used tractors and off-road vehicles, including towing heavy trailers to deliver tools and materials to sites, including wet and undulating terrain. I have performed habitat work, clearing invasive species, mowing fields to reduce thistle density and removing ragwort from grazing areas. Working on a reedbed site I used brushcutters and a BCS mower to perform reed cuts. Throughout the winter I worked to clear-fell and coppice a large area of scrub to restore limestone grassland habitat. I took personal responsibility for regularly checking over and maintaining fleet vehicles and personally maintained any machinery I used. I also have experience maintaining infrastructure including roads/paths, fencing, bridges. I have erected and electric fences to manage livestock and reduce predation risk. I frequently performed trail checks, to identify potential hazards or areas requiring attention. I have regularly led groups of volunteers to carry out this work, taking responsibility for planning and organising the days work, giving a health and safety briefings and maintaining standards of work.


I am a very physically active person, and my hobbies include cycling, fishing, running and birdwatching. I love to be outdoors and feel connected to wildlife, which has led me to volunteer with various conservation organisations and I love the physical challenge of running/cycling uphill. I take great pride in religiously maintaining my bikes and generally enjoy solving any problems/DIY around the house. In the past this has included completely renovating two bathrooms and I have just laid a patio in my parents’ garden. I have always played rugby but have been unable to do so for the past year. I’ve missed the camaraderie and can’t wait to play for a local team again.

AvailabilityStart: 22/05/2018, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobAny
Preferred regionAnywhere
Where would you like to work?I am currently based in Kent but would move anywhere for an interesting role.
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.