CV reference number: 62480
CV Headline

Prospective Vet Med student looking for more hands-on experience with all kinds of animals.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

No relevant agricultural qualifications but my others are as follows: ABBBCC Scottish Highers; one Advanced Higher A; HNC Visual Communication; German level 1B; DipHE in Architecture.

Equipment experienceNot listed
Other equipment experience

No equipment experience but keen to learn where I can.

Livestock experienceLambing
Other livestock experience

Three weeks on a farm with around 1500 lambing ewes. Day-to-day duties (feeding, bedding etc) alongside the main responsibilities of a lamber - splitting ewes and their lambs into individual pens; keeping records of births, medications etc; marking up, tagging and rubber band castrating ready to go outside. The farm also had a small number of beef cattle, one of which was a first-time mother and had trouble producing milk. The farmer allowed us to assist in bottle-feeding the calf and we helped keep watch on their progress.

Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
First languageEnglish
Other languagesGerman (conversational level)
Pen picture

Height: 5’11” (around 180cm) Weight: 137 lb (62.3kg) Slim but deceptively strong due to athletic background – have always been into sports and keeping fit. Completely comfortable around all animals, big and small, I was quite often chosen to go on the …”skittish” horses as I seemed to have a calming effect on them… either that or I was just too easy going to worry or complain about it! Speaking of which, I am generally pretty laid back and easy to get on with, I seem to be able to make most people laugh. I am also responsible and hard-working though and like to keep busy. Motivated and trustworthy, I work equally well in a team or on my own.

Relevant health problems
Other Information
Marital status

I am engaged.

Where are you currently living?Inverclyde/Glasgow
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

Most previous experience has been with horses - I've been around them from a very young age and volunteered at local stables for around four years. Just completed three weeks of lambing experience in April 2018. Been in the small animal veterinary environment for around 8 years.


I can't lie - I like to sleep, I work hard and I need to rest hard. However, I also like walking, particularly on nature trails, hill walking - being outdoors is something I love. I like to read and play guitar but don't often get as much time to do so as I'd like. I don't take regular horse-riding lessons anymore but I do like to spend time with horses when I can, visiting friends' horses and taking the opportunity to get in the saddle whenever it arises. My main sport through school and university was basketball, although not currently part of a team, I still like to get to a park and practice shooting, otherwise, I run sometimes, and do strength training.

AvailabilityStart: 05/06/2018, Finish: 25/08/2018
Type of jobAny
Preferred regionScotland
Where would you like to work?Will consider all areas
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.