CV reference number: 61923
CV Headline

Tractor driver/ farm labourer aged 33 looking for work around Leeds

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

NVQ level 2&3 plumbing

Equipment experienceTractor, Combine, Telehandler/fork lift, Drilling
Other equipment experience

John Cross DOB 11-09-1984 Wellingborough school , Northamptonshire 1997-2001 GCSE :- 3B grades 6 C grades Moulton collage 2002-2004 NVQ Level 1&2 Plumbling Collage placement to L P Cahill gas heating 2005-2006 Worked as an apprentice plumber installing heating systems and bathroom suites , work included power flushing systems, installation on soil stacks, commissioning system, tiling , bathroom design etc Travelled to Australia under a working holiday visa , while there worked for Pabula pty ltd Western Australia. 2008-2010 A 30000 acre farming operation, cropping and grazing Marino sheep. Work included mustering and health checking sheep , administering drench and lice spray Drilling wheat,barley,lupine and osr using John Deere 9630 with 50ft seed bar and grain cart Harvesting using John Deere 9750sts combine and 40ft header.Both operations using jd auto track systems Maintaining and servicing machinery , repairing break downs with as little down time. Working in 12hr shift work with other operators and being able to work well as a team member 2011-2018 Became a director of the Cross partnership Ltd, the family farming company, Carried out most tractor and machinery operations on the 550 acres farmed, included fert spreading , drilling,rolling, cultivations and harvesting. Liaised with the farms agronomist and planned the spray/feet program according to budget and crop expectation Maintained and serviced machinery, fixed and repaired breakdowns. I am a hard working reliable person who is self motivated and can work well alone or as a team member. Due to a change in family farming policy and lose of rented land , I have relocated to Leeds so my fiancée is closer to her family with our daughter. Outside work I enjoy country pursuits and playing sport, as well as spending time with my family.

Livestock experienceSheep, Lambing
Other livestock experience

Helped with lambing and calving.

Type of farming wantedMainly Arable
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture
Relevant health problems
Other Information
Marital status

Fiancée and daughter

Where are you currently living?Leeds
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

I have worked on farms most of my life , mainly the family farm , helped out my grandfather at lambing and calving time and been a director of the family business, which was around 550 acres , carried out all tractor and harvesting operations, as well as maintenance and repairs. Am experienced with auto track systems and modern agriculture technology. Have spent a few seasons in Western Australia working on a 30000 acre station, work included mustering and health checking Marino sheep Drilled wheat,barley,lupine and osr with John Deere 9630 and 50ft seed bar Harvested with John Deere 9750 sts combine and 40ft header


Play sports/ family time

AvailabilityStart: 19/04/2018, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobAny
Preferred regionYorkshire
Where would you like to work?Around Leeds/Harrogate
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.