CV reference number: 61518
CV Headline

I am a dedicated, enthusiastic mid level herdsperson who is very keen to progress and learn. My strong points are milking an calf rearing as i am methodical, have good attention to detail and take animal welfare very seriously. I would prefer to remain based in the Devon / Cornwall / Somerset area but am open to relocating if the right opportunity became available. 

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNVQ Level 1,2,3
Other qualifications

NVQ Level 1, 2 , 3 in agriculture and business management

Equipment experienceTractor
Other equipment experience

I have limited tractor driving experience but am comfortable with a scraper tractor and picking silage from the pit and placing this in feed areas and also moving round bales. I am confident driving a truck and towing a small cattle box behind.

Livestock experienceDairy, Beef, Sheep, Lambing
Other livestock experience

I am confident in a variety of parlours and able to work alone or as a team during milking. I am able to follow instructions whilst in a parlour and realise that every farmer would like things done their way and can adapt my own skills to reflect that. I currently have my own self employed milkers insurance which covers tank antibiotic failures and have held this for 6 years, I have never had to claim (Touch wood!) and have never had to have a tank emptied due to a failure. I am very keen to learn / monitor BactoScan and Cell count results and believe that parlour cleanliness is a major strength for me (During milking and after) I find it very easy to monitor cows and the general herd health whilst milking, often picking out quarters that have not milked out then investigating why (Stripping out, tubing, udder mint etc) and also spotting lame cows walking in to the collecting yard and cows not eating cake or looking as active as they normally would.

Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
SexFemale
Age30
NationalityBritish
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture
Relevant health problems

No

Other Information
Marital status

No, I have a Labrador! :)

Where are you currently living?Devon
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

I have previously relief milked on 3 local farms whilst at school the college, I then decided on an officed based career with the NFU and relief milked / calf reared before work and on my weekends off. In 2017 family circumstances caused a move from Devon to Dorset where I started a new career in farming as an assistant herdsperson, doing the majority of milkings, herd health and developing my skills. After 18 months I decided that I was ready for the next step in my career and wanted to move back closer to Devon where my family are. I relocated to North Devon and through no fault of my own the job description offered did not materialise so I am currently relief milking for 3 farms, calf rearing for 2 farms and looking for a new opportunity that will suit me. I have references available from all my relief work on request and also personal references.

Hobbies
Preferences
AvailabilityStart: 03/02/2019, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionSouth West
Where would you like to work?Devon / Cornwall / Somerset
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.