CV reference number: 61417
CV Headline

South African Family Man, with Grounds/Estate/Guest Farm Management experience, looking for similar, or a dynamic start to a mixed farming career. 

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

SAMSA Qualified Day Skipper Cat C Power Driven Vessel

Equipment experienceTractor
Other equipment experience

I have been driving tractors in various roles for 10 years or so but not necessarily in a farming capacity, rather in a grounds keeping, practical capacity, mowing (triple-deck roller mower), harrowing, fixing fences, topping, rolling, excavating, some basic ploughing and fertilizer spreading. I have a range of workshop and horticultural skills, chainsaw, welding, grinding, etc. Basic building and plumbing experience, large-sale vegetable garden and lawn irrigation installation, a working knowledge of equipment servicing, no qualifications or licenses. Most of my working environments have had basic/dated equipment which means I’m quite resourceful, and good at keeping equipment working. Making a plan.

Livestock experienceBeef, Poultry
Other livestock experience

One year (2014 - 2015) as a Site Manager on a Rearing/Laying Farm (Poultry) in KwaZulu Natal, SA. The birds were on a 12-week programme and my role covered all aspects of shed maintenance, staff management, animal welfare, including some veterinary assistance, data entry, hygiene & bio-security, etc. 2016 - 2018, I managed a small (+/- 40) ‘field to fork’ Nguni herd, mostly breeding heifers and young, and one bull, on a working guest farm. A self-sufficient, small-framed, yet very moody herd, that free-roamed in the day and corralled every evening. Hands-on experience with this herd was limited to herding, administering on occasions vaccinations/injections, building and amending the crush, and as a family we hand-reared a premature calf.

Type of farming wantedMixed Farming
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
SexMale
Age33
NationalitySouth African
First languageEnglish
Other languagesAfrikaans
Pen picture

Slim build, 1.8m tall. Strong and healthy.

Relevant health problems

None

Other Information
Marital status

I have a British wife and twins Lily & Jake age 5.

Where are you currently living?
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

I have had various jobs since leaving school at 18, including several seasons Line-fishing and Quota Diving, and 4 years or so working on a Private Nature Reserve, all in South Africa. These have all been hands-on, learn on the job, often in harsh, or uncomfortable environments, long-hours - type jobs. Within the last five years we spent a year living on a farm in Kwazulu Natal, SA that had 400+/- head of Brangus, arable and poultry. I was employed as one of two Poultry Site Managers, rotating out-of-hours duties on a weekly rotation. The farm had 6 Rearing houses, each with 5,000 birds, and 12 Laying houses. I was not involved in any other aspect of the farm’s activities other than general building and vehicle maintenance, or rounding up the herd. Following on from that, I was employed for two years as the Farm Manager on a small-holding guest farm in the Western Cape, SA, before making the decision to move to the UK. I managed a small team of Farm Hands, Groundsmen and Gardeners, a small herd of Nguni cattle, chickens, ducks and horses. I was tasked with minor building repairs and maintenance, including the swimming pool, water pumps, chicken houses and guest cottages. Road and water pipe repair, irrigation, fire-fighting and controlled burning, alien species clearance, and pest control. Since arriving in the UK in 2018, I have been employed as the sole Groundsman at a Polo Club. I undertake all physical aspects of grass management, fencing, some maintenance of the farm buildings and the outdoor arena, equipment servicing, paddock maintenance, topping, fertilizing, and club area aesthetics. I report directly with the owner as and when required, but otherwise work on my own initiative.

Hobbies

Kid time! Fishing. Trips to the coast, or visiting English Heritage sites. Current affairs. Springbok Rugby.

Preferences
AvailabilityStart: 31/12/2019, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionAnywhere
Where would you like to work?South West or North.
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.