CV reference number: 57228
CV Headline

Young enthusiastic farm worker looking for work on a arable farm or  livestock farm, I have a large amount of experience in both livestock and arable,  looking around Shrewsbury, Shropshire 

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

BSc in agriculture with Hons in Farm Businesss Management. WAMITAB mobile plant spreading (Digestate, AD.)

Equipment experienceDrilling, Ploughing, Fencing, Other harvesters, Telehandler/fork lift, Tracked machine, PA2, PA1, Combine, Tractor
Other equipment experience

Tractors upto 650bhp (all makes). John Deere combines, all makes of tractors. Grimmie potato machinery (planter, de-stoner harvester). Cultivations - all types plough, disc, tine. Extensive trailer work.

Livestock experienceCalving, Lambing, Sheep, Beef, Dairy
Other livestock experience

I have done lambing and calving on the flock/herd that I ran in the north east. Includes all uses of medicine for them dosing, worming, ringing lambs, castrate claves etc. Dagging out lambs for sale and matching up pens for the sales was also my job. All aspects of shepherding was undertaken by myself and one other person. Decision as to what was to be culled out of the flock/herd was mine to make and execute, along side this was the decision what replacements to bring on and what to sell.

Type of farming wantedMainly Arable
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
NationalityUnited Kingdom
First languageEnglish
Other languagesfrench
Pen picture

I am 6'2 and weigh around 13 stone, fit and healthy.

Relevant health problems

I am recovering from a broken leg in august which occurred while mustering cattle on a motorbike in Australia.This will not stop me working effectively.

Other Information

I have worked all over the UK on both arable farms and livesrtock farms, capable of filling in my own day with appropriate work that needs to be done on the farm once I have my bearings. I am also workshop capable and can do basic repairs and servicing on machinery (service tractors bikes quads). I have done welding before however it was a number of years ago and haven't done much of it lately.

Marital status

My partner who works on a large dairy herd just outside of shrewsbury.

Where are you currently living?Shropshire
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

2014-215 i managed a flock of 300 ewes and a accompanying herd of 70 suclker cows, Hereford cross Limousin. As well as working as a farm contractor doing silage, potatoes cultivations and a wide range of other activities for farmers in the area. 2015-2016 have milked cows before on a relief basis throughout. 2015-2016 managed a large arable farm in Sussex with a high yielding dairy attached and a expansive AD unit. I grew wheat, Rye, Maize and Grass.


I have a small flock of show sheep (Herdwicks) and show these sheep across the counties, the ram lambs from this are then sold as society registered high value rams. I also train spaniel gundogs.

AvailabilityStart: 08/01/2018, Finish: 30/04/2018
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionWest Midlands
Where would you like to work?Shropshire
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4Xtrahands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.