CV reference number: 54450
CV Headline

I am a 20 year old farm worker looking for a career in agriculture. I have worked in no other field since the age of 14. I am currently working in Cumbria for a large farming contractor doing everything from silage, stone leading, bailing etc. Traveling from Scotland to Stockton. I will work long hours and 7 days a week if need be. I am originally from DH7 and would just like to be nearer home please see my CV for further details.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

Completed 3 years of a 4 year apprenticeship in agricultural engineering. Fork Lift driving certificate. Currently applied for my CSCS card and applying for my PA1 certificate. Have qualifications in welding.

Equipment experienceTractor, Combine, Baler, Telehandler/fork lift, Other harvesters, Fencing
Other equipment experience

Whilst doing my apprenticeship I worked on and studies Case and JCB. Along side that and since then I have worked on farms on various tractors of all sizes. Makes cover John Deere, Case and Massey. I have experience with trailers, bailers, tele handlers, have my forklift license and experience with other farming equipment. Since working in CUmbria I have gain experience on further plant.

Livestock experienceDairy, Beef, Pig, Sheep, Calving, Poultry
Other livestock experience

5 years casual experience on a local diary/ cattle farm. Milking, feeding, calving.

Type of farming wantedMainly Arable
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
Profile Picture
NationalityUnited Kingdom
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture

I am approx. 5ft 9 high.

Relevant health problems

I have psoriasis, it's managed and has no impact on my work.

Other Information

I see my chosen path in life, farming and everything associated to it, as more of a life style than a job. Therefore this makes me punctual, honest and still willing to learn. I work very well as part of a team and also alone. Will take to be given orders when there is a management structure and would appreciate the opportunity to be able to assist in day-to-day operations and delegation. I am willing to put the hours in to get the work done and appreciate that in farming there is no such thing as a 9-5. Weather does not deter me from working.

Marital status


Where are you currently living?Durham
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

I left school and obtained an apprenticeship in agricultural engineering at Paxtons, Durham. Completing 3 of the 4 years. During each apprenticeship year I have been spending 3 months at Reaseheath Agricultural College studying Agricultural Engineering. My roles at work have included maintenance, servicing, fabricating, welding. I have worked on all kinds of machines including combines, telehandlers, bailers, seed drills and tractors. Paxtons are a company that are dealers for Case and JCB so have worked in detail on their range of machinery. I specialized in trailors of all sizes whilst doing my apprenticeship. I left my apprenticeship early as I wanted to pursue other farming roles. Whilst working at Paxton’s I also had several other jobs. One being at a local farm carrying out roles from milking to harvesting etc. and Two other jobs which include land stripping, turfing, hedge cutting, harrowing and fertilizing besides others. I have during Mid July – End August been working away at a farm, Bourne Lincs. Working the harvest. Here I worked in a team of 5 residential workers and my roles were leading, bailing and other farming roles. I am currently sub-contracting for a local farm service contractor. Leading, driving farm machinery, building slurry pits and fencing. Again, working as part of a team. Whilst waiting for the contract to begin in Cumbria I worked on a casual basis for a Biomass wood farm in county durham, Since working in Cumbria I have gained extensive experience in all areas of work driving machine including case, john deere and Duetz-Fahr. I hate letting people down so very reliable. I would be ready for work on acceptance of job and worked my notice with current employer.


Generally anything outdoors, especially shooting game, beating, fishing and other land based sports. I consider farming to be a lifestyle and not a job therefore my work is very much my main interest.

AvailabilityStart: 31/07/2018, Finish: 30/05/2021
Type of jobAny
Preferred regionNorth East
Where would you like to work?County Durham
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.