CV reference number: 52367
CV Headline

Experienced Head Herds-person/ herd/flock manager and tractor driver . Married and highly motivated, enthusiastic person who has hands on experience in the farming industry.  I can demonstrate all aspects of animal husbandry to a high standard. I'm hard working great at timekeeping, work well on my own or part of a team.  I have been in the farming industry all my life,  I have milked and managed various breeds and herd sizes,  with AYR and block calving and lambing. Foot trim both dairy, beef and sheep ,veterinary administration as well as  dehorning and disbudding ,castration and tail docking.  I have used various computer systems including Inter-herd  and Farm-plan and Sum-it.  I have driven most makes of  tractor and  used most related equipment from feeding with feeder wagon, mowing, carting, tedding, raking, slurry tanking, fertilizing, dung spreading, power harrowing, rolling, aerating and fencing. I have experience on tele-handler as well as mini digger and vibrating roller.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNCA, NVQ Level 1,2,3, City and Guilds
Other qualifications

NPTC CHAINSAW....CS30.1 CS30.2 ACS03 ACTR02 UNIT_01 UNIT_02, taken in 2008.... NPTC TRANSPORT OF ANIMALS ... SHORT JOURNEY 202-cattle & sheep 206 horses , taken in 2008 NPTC TRANSPORT OF ANIMALS... SHORT JOURNEY PIGS 2016 Lantra Tractor / trailed and loader, Lantra vermin control, spraying PA6A & PA6AW. 6 seated ATV(Polaris) Lantra Mo1

Equipment experienceTractor, Baler, PA1, Tracked machine, Telehandler/fork lift, Fencing, Ploughing, Drilling
Other equipment experience

Power harrow, batwing topper, Keenan feeder, hay raking and rowing up, muck spreading/slurry tanker, atv quad bike and 6 seated ATV(Polaris) strimmer,

Livestock experienceDairy, Beef, Pig, Sheep, Lambing, Calving, Poultry
Other livestock experience

A lot of stock experience which is detailed in the Background box. Power harrow, batwing topper, Keenan feeder, hay raking and rowing up, muck spreading/slurry tanker, atv quad bike and 6 seated ATV(Polaris) strimmer,  Foot triming.  AI, breeding cattle according to best Genetic outcome, I lambed 40 ewes sheared them and foot trimed.also help my father from time to time lambing 200 ewes of his own,I also was the stallion handler using them to cover mares we bread from, I also ride. I covered our dairyman in the parlor whilst he was on holiday.

Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence, hgv, tractor
Personal information
First languageEnglish
Other languagesN/a
Pen picture

6'4'' 18.5 stone athletic build

Relevant health problems

allergic to morphine and nickel

Other Information
Marital status

Wife ... son that lives with his mother and spends holidays with us

Where are you currently living?Cornwall
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

Born into farming...My agricultural life started from a very young age, my earliest memory is of my parents using my sister and myself as gap fillers in fences etc as animals of all descriptions were being moved. There is a newspaper cut out of me at around 4 years of age leading a Hereford bull at the Royal Bath and West show so its breed into me. I attended Plumpton Agricultural college in 1987 on an NCA, and did my initial tree surgery certificate, after that I worked with my father  in East Sussex a top pedigree herd with numerous show titles. I then worked for a fencing contractor for 2 years putting up many types of fencing including military contract razor wire. I worked with his Pedigree Charolais at Warniglid Charolais and racehorse stud, again doing the show circuit and competing against my farther for the top titles I then worked again with my farther at Moynton Charolais. There we achieved many more show titles with this prestigious herd as well as running 100 head of Dorset horns.I left to work for my now ex-wife's family farm where I spent 7+years at an Estate managing the 300 Holstein/friesain herd split between 2 dairys as well as a small beef sucker herd and flock of sheep, responsibility included foot trimming as i completed a course in Dutch style foot trimming instructed by my local vet at the time. I worked closely with a nutritionist to produce a diet able to sustain a high yield as well as being able to maintain their health without stressing the individual animal. we used a Keenan feeder wagon to deliver this. By combining the two essential elements of breeding and feeding as well as improving dairy hygiene meant not only did we increase our herd lactation by 3000 lts average per cow over two and a half years we decreased the herd cell count and Bacta scan but increased our butter fat and protein yield. The sheep we used to follow the horses after the cows, I lambed 40 ewes sheared them and foot timed.I also was the stallion handler using them to cover mares we bread from, I also ride. I covered our dairyman in the parlor whilst he was on holiday and i did all the tractor and material handler work on the farm. Ploughing ,power harrowing, drilling, fertilizing artificial,FMY and slurry, hedge trimming, mowing ,turning , transporting bales and stacking , working a clamp and stacking bale silage. Bailing and silage bale rapping and mucking out barns with a merlo materials handler, and machine maintenance.I also repaird and replaced fences both post and rail and stock fencing as well as tree surgery. Whilst working at Kingston Lacy my day to day management of the countries oldest Pedigree herd of Red Devon's first registered in 1894, I was asked to devise a plan in which we could guarantee the herd would be able to always be a part of the estate, As part of my PDR two years ago I put together a profile of the herd and recommended we harvest embryos from our best cows to keep in on-farm storage so if the herd was overcome by TB or foot and mouth and had to be culled we had a reset button we could activate and bring back the herd from the dead as it were. Another one of my role profiles was to reduce the herd calving pattern from 26 breeding cows over 6 months to now of 38 cows calving Feb/March , these cows are also horned as part of the Will set there-in by so barn space has till now kept the herd small in recent years.I also manage a small number of pigs as they represent the breeds that were also farmed here at home farm in the Banks family residence. As part of my roll I manage a small team of 6 volunteers ,I have a responsibility of checking purchasing against farm budgets and making sure its balancing each month,I also construct the interpretation for visitors to better understand the role Home farm played while the part of that was for me to to open the farm for the fist time in its history to the public in February 2016,covering all aspects of risk management and staffing levels, it was a huge success and received over 2500 visitors during 5 weekends and one full week. As the only employed Farm worker it is all down to me to be able to deliver all the above to the best of my ability, as well as having a good working relationship with the estate tennents both agricultural and private. As part of the outdoors team I help out the Rangers and gardeners in anything they need help with, be it moving things with my tractor to planting trees and shrubs or strimming.


Family and sport, ex England squad and county badminton player, I compeat at masters / VETS level. Cricket, ex-county & Armed forces rugby martial arts.

AvailabilityStart: 30/07/2019, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionAnywhere
Where would you like to work?Dorset or surrounding county's
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.