CV reference number: 47571
CV Headline

English multi skilled worker looking for tractor and livestock work in Southern England and always looking to learn more and gain more experience.  

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNCA, City and Guilds
Other qualifications

First Diploma in Agriculture. National Certificate in Agriculture. PA1 and PA2. Telehandler Certificate. Chainsaw maintenance and cross cutting certificate

Equipment experienceTractor, Baler, PA1, PA2, Telehandler/fork lift, Fencing, Ploughing, Drilling
Other equipment experience

Used to plough 200-500acres of ploughing a year with a Kuhn 5 furrow reversible plough. Used a Simba DTX. Used to do the majority of the spraying with a Houseman 24m trailed sprayer, done some work with GPS but not a lot because it was only demo that we had for a day (Fendt 939 with a set of butterfly mowers and a mower on the front), done a lot of fertilising and compound spreading with SOYL maps using an Amazone ZA-M spreader. Done a lot of grain carting, bale carting, rolling, grass tedding and raking, umbilical pumping with a 24m dribble bar, slurry tanking using a Pichon 3600 tanker and Major 2600, feeding cattle with feeder wagons, drove a JCB 413 loading shovel, drilling with a KV Evo 6m tine drill, hedge cutting and liquid fert application with a Knight 4000litre trailed sprayer.

Livestock experienceDairy, Beef, Calving
Other livestock experience

Use to relief milk in a 8/8 parlour on my first job. At Severalles Farm used to calf 90 cow simmental x herd with the other person that worked there. Also vaccinated, wormed and fluked all the cows, calves and the 3 bulls we had. Also de horned the calves. At my current job I milk 230 freisan cows in a 24/24 herringbone parlour, all year round calf, have qualified to AI with 33% conception rate at the moment and do calf rearing.

Type of farming wantedMixed Farming
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
SexMale
Age34
NationalityEnglish
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture

5ft 11 13 stone

Relevant health problems

Suffer a bit with hayfever.

Other Information
Marital status

Married but separated. 2 year old boy

Where are you currently living?Wiltshire
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

After leaving Kingston Maurward college was a GFW on a small dairy farm just outside of Dorchester. Here my main job was feeding, scrapping up, slurry tanking, muck spreading, topping, fencing and I relief milked. I did this for 5 years before deciding I wanted to gain some experience in arable farming so I got a job at Farm, just outside of Princes Risborough in Bucks. This was a mixed beef and arable farm with a total of 1200 acres when first started there. 550 acres of arable (went up to just over 750 when I left) and the rest was grass and woodland. We had a 90 cow Simmental x spring calving herd. Two of us did the majority of the work ourselves. I used to plough all the arable ground before we got the DTX then tried to split it 50/50. I did all the fertilising and a vast amount of the spraying. I did do a bit of cultivating with the DTX. I also did a small amount of drilling with a Reco Sulky 4m combination drill, also did power harrowing and front pressing. Had a little go in our New Holland CX 8080 combine but not for long but also used to help service it. Did a lot of Countryside Stewardship and ELS work there as well. I worked there for 7 and a half years beofr moving to J.F Cobbs as a tractor driver where I did power harrowing, mowing, relief feeder wagon and loading shovel driver, umbilical work, slurry tanking, cultipressing, silage hauling and muck hauling. Left there after 6 months because was offered a job working with my father-in-law at Waterditch Farm as his assistant herdsman where my main duties are feeding the cows, maintenance of the machinery and milking in 24/24 herringbone parlour. I'm currently working on a 4000 acre mainly arable estate with a small Murray Grey beef suckler herd where my main duties are spraying, fertilising (liquid & granular), drilling, round bailing hay and straw, hedge cutting and the day to day running of the beef herd.

Hobbies

Like to go cycling. Like to watch cricket, football and F1.

Preferences
AvailabilityStart: 01/06/2019, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionSouth West
Where would you like to work?
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.