CV reference number: 45636
CV Headline

British male, 50 , Highly skilled and vastly experienced looking for new challenge.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNCA
Other qualifications

NCA Agriculture, Telescopic forklift, HGV 1, HGV 2, Trailer, Full car license, Full motorcycle license, Firearms and shotgun license, Foot trimming level 2, ATV ,Chainsaw, PA 1, PA 6, Health and safety on farms, Manual handling. First aid.

Equipment experienceTelehandler/fork lift, HGV 2 and 3, HGV 1 to 3, PA1, Tractor, Fencing
Other equipment experience

I have experience with tractors and all associated jobs i.e. Cultivating, baling, wrapping, corn cart, hedge trimming, slurry irrigation, etc.  Also ride on mowers, all terrain vehicles and tele-handlers. Over the years I have learnt many skills and can perform any task required of me. I particularly enjoy fencing and dry stone walling. Machinery maintenance is one of my strengths and I have workshop skills and enjoy repairing things.

Livestock experienceCalving, Lambing, Sheep, Beef, Dairy
Other livestock experience

I have worked with dairy cows, beef suckler herds, large sheep flocks, horses and have reared pheasants and partridges. I have been working with livestock since leaving college and have built up a vast knowledge of different management systems and how to provide the best possible care of the animals for which I am responsible. I strongly believe that the welfare of my livestock is paramount and that their needs come before my own. I am competent in all livestock tasks including shearing, worming, vaccinations, bolusing, condition scoring, grading lambs, identification of sick animals and their treatment. I am a very experienced foottrimmer with a detailed knowledge of the causes and treatment of lame cows. My work with the vets also included de- horning, dis -budding and mobility scoring.

Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence, hgv
Personal information
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture
Relevant health problems


Other Information
Marital status

Married two daughters

Where are you currently living?Gloucestershire
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

Pre college- relief milking on three dairy units .1984-85 Hartpury College NCA course, 1986 -1989 on a farm Calf rearing, Relief Milking, Tractor driving. 1989-1983  Glos. Shepherd /Stockman 500 Cambridge ewes and 80 Hereford suckler cows. 1993 - 1994 Self employed fencing contractor. 1994-1998  Burford Oxon.Stockman for 250 Suckler cows. 1998-2010 Glos. Shepherd for 800 ewes Game Keeping , Estate maintenance. 2010-2012 Stockman / Shepherd 500 ewes and 110 Suckler cows. 2012 - 2015 Professional foot trimmer for two veterinary practices. 2015 - Present Shepherd for 1200 ewes.


I enjoy walking and training dogs. Rugby.

AvailabilityStart: 01/12/2017, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionAnywhere
Where would you like to work?
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.