CV - 37470

Back to CV list
CV reference number: 37470
CV Headline

27 year old herdsman/General Farm worker looking for that perfect job to progress my career and improve my skills.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

2011 Fork Lift Licence (Counter Balance) (FLT Forklift Training Academy) 2014 NPTC Level 2 award in the transport of animals by road (short journeys) 203 - sheep   EDUCATION 2003 –2008 Belmont School Community Arts College GCSE  English language B  English literature C  Science C/C  Mathematics B  Health and social B/C  Geography C  P.E C  R.E C  Music C Further Education • Duke of Edinbrough Bronze Award • Certificate of Personal Effectiveness level 2 • Adult Literacy and Numeracy level 2 Further Training 2011 CPR & BLS (Basic Life Support) 2011 Shock and Haemorrhage 2011 Recovery Position

Equipment experienceTractor, Baler, Tracked machine, Telehandler/fork lift, Fencing
Other equipment experience

During silage and harvest time I have assisted with hay turning, leading bales, carting grains and pit silage using large trailer. I have regularly undertake slurry and muck spreading. Mucked sheds out using tractors and telehandler. Undertaken topping, limited mowing. Power harrowing and rotorvating.

Livestock experienceDairy, Beef, Pig, Sheep, Lambing, Calving
Other livestock experience

I have done 7-8 years of lambing sheep. 7 years of calving cows. I have worked with closed calving patterns in both spring and autumn, I have also worked with calving all year round. Both inside and outside calving. I have some experience of working with horses, mainly running wild, handled for regular worming and for castrating, micro-chipping and foot trimming.

Type of farming wantedMainly Arable
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
Profile Picture
First languageEnglish
Other languagesNONE
Pen picture
Relevant health problems


Other Information

I am currently looking into obtaining my trailer licence and some formal agricultural qualifications. Although I only young with 7 years full time experience of working on a farm, I am enthusiastic, motivated, hardworking and ever willing to listen and learn. During this time I have acquired knowledge and experience of working with Cows, both Diary and Beef, Sheep, Horses, Goats and other farm yard animals (mucking out, muck and slurry spreading, feeding, moving and herding, with both quad bike and my dog, general health check-ups).  I am always looking to expand my knowledge and understanding of all animals. I have undertaken all aspects of general farm maintenance, boundary maintenance (dry stone wall, barbed wire, pig net, rail, setting posts). I have extensive experience of using a quad to herd flocks of sheep, although I am currently trying to train my own collie to herd. During my time working on the farm I lived away from home on numerous occasions checking stock at 3 hour intervals through the night over lambing time and calving. As I always went that bit further to make sure every job was done to the highest standard, this led to securing work on further farms repairing and erecting new boundary fences and walls. I undertook all aspects of animal health checks; worming, injecting, checking and clipping feet, and clipping mucky wool. I have experience of mucking out sheds with a tractor and loader and limited experience with a bobcat

Marital status
Where are you currently living?durham
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

January 2017 - present Dairy farm- feeding cows with a Keenan feeder and jd150r, loaded with a jcbtm120. All bedding and scraping using straw chopper, sawdust and mf35, all calving and calf rearing, all aspects of silage, bales, leading Pitt, rolling and buckraking, moving and raking. All slurry spreading and muck leading. Leading grains from the combine. Milking the 300 cows as and when required and all herd health. And all other day to day duties of which I am capable of carrying out. February 2016 - January 2017 dairy farm - my main duties include feeding of the cows using a JCB to 320, New Holland T7250 and a twin tub feeder wagon.  Also milking of the 700 cow herd.  I also undertake any and all general work on the farm that I am capable of performing.  December 2015 – February 2016– Dairy Heardsman.  Main duties include milking a pedigree herd of 130 Holsteins through a Fullwood 15/30 swingover, twice daily.  Feeding and bedding of young stock and dry cows, all silage and cereals produced in house with outside contracting for the pit silage. Slurry spreading and muck carting. Record keeping and medication records.  August 2015-November 2015 Ghilli / Estate Worker This was a temporary position to work on a traditional highland estate, coving approximately 42,000 acres, working ponies to extract red deer. Working alongside the head stalker to maintain and improve all aspects of the estate, maintaining and replacing fences and walls, ditches and footpaths. The main objective was to manage the resident herd of red deer that reside on the estate. Our duties were to interact with guest from and be responsible for them having a pleasant and enjoyable time while visiting. March 2015-May2015 – General Farm Worker In this temporary position I undertook an intensive indoor and outdoor lambing in central Wales. Duties included the lambing and welfare of around 5000 ewes and the day to day management of approximately 300 cattle. Other duties included muck spreading, silage and straw leading and pulling a big box behind a new Holland 6070, to relocate sheep and lambs. Duties also included mucking out of sheds using a jcb loadall and a new Holland skid steer. September 2014-February 2015.  Estates – Shepherd / Stockman / General Estate Worker Currently living and working on a 22,500 acre estate in the highlands of Scotland. My position is primarily based around the day to day management of a herd of 100 native bred suckler cows. A mix of Highland X Shorthorn and Highland X Luing cows. The cows calve in a tight 10 week block outside, and are all out-wintered. We also run a large flock of Black-Face Ewes with which I assist the head shepherd with the day to day management. Gathering/drencing/lambing and all other associated tasks. I do currently have a working collie dog that is a good keen worker. I have also participated in the driven partridge and pheasant shoot so which I have a dog to assist with beating and retrieving. I have done limited stalking with red deer. December 2013 – September 2014 General Farm Worker Previously worked in Okehampton, Devon, on approximately 2000 acres of inbye grazing with further grazing rights on Dartmoor. We were running approximately 1200 black face ewes, lambed outdoors and 300 mules, lambed indoors. Approximately 400 cows commercial heard of Limousine X Holstein and a small heard of Pedigree Charolais and welsh black cows, plus follows, split into spring and autumn block calving. Cubicle house and straw bedded. Scrapped out and Keenan fed. Silage making was outside contracted with help from the small on farm team. Leading pitt silage and leading bails. Slurry and muck spreading were all part of my duties. June 2013 – December 2013 Dairy farm – Assistant Dairy Herdsman Previous dairy experience was 350 pedigree Holstein heard milked twice daily through a 50 point rotary parlour. 4am milking and 3pm milking. All cubicle house on sawdust bedding. All fattening beast were house on a second farm and brought through to finishing. All Keenan feed and Kuhn straw chopper to bed up. All silage and cereals done in house with a fleet of 6 John Deere. All milk was bottled on site and distributed to small shops and independent milk men. March 2013 – May 2013 (Temp (Farm) – Assistant Dairy Herdsman I took up a temporary post for 2 month milking 130 cows on the isle of mull through a 14/28 where all milk was processed to cheese on site. November 2011- December 2011 (Christmas temp) Argos - Customer Advisor My duties were in the warehouse taking stock and picking orders for the front of house staff. September 2011 – November 2011  Building Suppliers – General Labour This job was just a temp position driving a forklift truck loading and unloading lorries with site equipment. General overhaul and tidy and rearrangement of the warehouse and stock.   January 2009 – June 2011  Chinese Take-Away – Delivery Driver January 2009 – (Present) Agricultural Worker (Casual) November 2007 – June 2010 Track Marshall and Go Kart Mechanic - Top Gear Karting Work Experience Vets 4 Pets 1 week (9am-5pm Monday-Friday) Dunelm Vets Surgery 1 day and week for 15 weeks Nursing Assistant (Bishop NHS) 8 weeks (8am-6pm Monday-Friday) Learning Disability Nursing Assistant 1 week (shift work)


I spend a lot of time travelling all over the UK and visiting friends and family. A lot of the time when im not working at my full time job im helping out the old man who gave me my first farming job. I like to meet up with the lads at the local working mens club have a pint and a couple games of snooker and pool.

AvailabilityStart: 02/12/2018, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobAny
Preferred regionAnywhere
Where would you like to work?Anywhere
Back to CV list

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.