CV reference number: 37180
CV Headline

47 year old female in East Devon. Currently solo milking 200 pedigree Holstein Freisan through a 10/10 westfalia herringbone parlour. Remedial foot trimming, calf rearing. All the usual types of stock care, admin duties and veterinary treatments Etc. Previously solo milking 200 head Holstein herd giving 9,500l average in 10/10 Delaval parlour.Dairy hygiene etc. Have also previously had sole responsibility as calf rearer for 800 head high yield holsteins herd with strict protocols and to a very high standard. Have also performed all stockman duties during block calving of a 260 Kiwi (Friesian x Jersey) herd. Milking alone in a Waikato Herringbone Supa 4 with 24 clusters. Experienced with all dairy and milking, yard and stock duties.. Also sheep, lambing and horses. Quiet with all types of stock. Good team worker and problem solver. Confident with tractors and machinery. South West preferred but work considered anywhere.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

Competent with all milking, dairy cattle care and calf rearing duties, including Johnne's disease preventive measures. I have worked full time on the family farm, mixed dairy and arable as well as previously having my own flock of 100 Charolais ewes and tups reared to sell as hogs.  I am experienced in all aspects of milking and calf rearing.  I have good attention to detail and stock-manship and am quiet handling all types of stock. Competent foot trimmer. I am able to drive all types of farm machinery and am very competent and confident.  Excellent PC and admin skills.   A good team player and excellent commutator as well as happy to work under my own initiative. 

Equipment experienceFencing, Telehandler/fork lift, Tractor
Other equipment experience

Happy to drive and operate all types of farm machinery

Livestock experienceCalving, Lambing, Sheep, Goat, Dairy
Other livestock experience

I have been involved with dairy cattle, calf rearing (starting a calf rearing programme on the family farm changing from a flying herd in the mid '90s) I have worked with goats and all types of horses. Also ran my own flock of 100 charolais ewes. I have an excellent eye for stock and detail and am quiet handling them

Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence, hgv, tractor
Personal information
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture

5'9" 11st

Relevant health problems


Other Information

I am conscientious, hard working and able to work as part of a team or independently. I am a good communicator and problem solver. I have a good eye for detail and am quiet with stock. I am easy going and go with the flow, with a good sense of humour. 

Marital status

Grown up independent children.

Where are you currently living?Devon
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

Experienced milker, relief milker and calf rearer.  Previously married to a dairy and arable farmer.  Did all relief milking, calf rearing attended to followers own flock of 100 Charolais ewes.  Currently milking full time.  Looking for suitable position with more responsibility.


Hill-walking/walking. and all the usual relaxing past -times

AvailabilityStart: 30/11/2017, Finish: 04/08/2020
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionSouth West
Where would you like to work?East Devon
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4Xtrahands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.