CV reference number: 36748
CV Headline

I am an experienced farm operative, I live in Shropshire but I am willing to live in or re-locate for the right position.  I have experience as a poultry stock person, as a milker of large dairy herds and have many years experience as a tractor driver using a variety of machinery.  I enjoy working in all areas of agriculture and having been brought up on a family farm it is definitely in my blood.  My maturity means I have a greater understanding of the business side of the running of the farm.  I have few commitments so flexibility and loyalty to the job will be guaranteed.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualificationsAlthough i have no formal qualifications, I can guarantee that the experience I have gathered over the years is worth just as much as a qualification.
Equipment experienceTractor, Combine, Baler, Telehandler/fork lift, Other harvesters, Fencing, Ploughing
Other equipment experienceI worked as a contract tractor driver for many years both as part of the family business but also for Andy Chatham contractors, I have driven most makes of tractors but in the main John Deere and JCB Fastrac. I have experience with ploughing and combining but in the main i worked on potato planters, de-stoners and the harvester. As part of work i did with the forestry commission I have got experience with fencing
Livestock experienceDairy, Beef, Pig, Goat, Sheep, Lambing, Calving, Poultry
Other livestock experience10 years experience with rearing sheep and lambing on my family farm we had 1000 sheep to lamb each year. I have milked dairy herds the most experience was on a large farm with Holstein Fresians using a herringbone parlour, however I also have experience of a rotary parlour. I have less experience with pig farming and this has only been on short term contracts. The most recent stock experience I have gained is as a poultry stockperson. I work in fully automated sheds and also monitor and record the condition of the chickens check the feed levels and the water levels and deal with situations as and when they arise.
Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture5'11" broad sholdered
Relevant health problemsI don't have any health problems that would prevent me from applying for any positions
Other Information
Marital statusI am married to Alison and have a grown up son who is an electrician
Where are you currently living?shopshire
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming backgroundBrought up on family farm, worked with arable and stock, and also worked for a large contractor, recent experience also with growing turf.I feel that although I have lots of experience with a wide area of the sector I would like to focus my search on livestock and in particular poultry. However I would be interested in keeping my options open to either tractor driving or something I have not done yet.
HobbiesAvid football fan, supporting Manchester United. I love gardening and walking. My wife and I also like to try new restaurants when we hear of them. I enjoy attending local agricultural and flower shows as well.
AvailabilityStart: 01/03/2019, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobSeasonal
Preferred regionWest Midlands
Where would you like to work?prepared to re-locate
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.