CV reference number: 35071
CV Headline

Experienced married 42 year old shepherd seeking full time position.  Was Shepherd at the RVC in Hertfordshire teaching the next generation of vets.Experience of flocks up to 3000 breeding ewes - seeking a perminate shepherding job in the UK.  Also experienced with beef cattle and calving,showing cattle and sheep.  Also done a little work with Dairy cattle and milking.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

Hgv class 1

Equipment experienceTractor, HGV 1 to 3, HGV1, HGV 2 and 3, Telehandler/fork lift, Fencing, Ploughing
Other equipment experience

Quad experience and a little experience in conventional baling.  JCB and Telly handler experience but no ticket.

Livestock experienceDairy, Beef, Pig, Sheep, Lambing, Calving, Poultry
Other livestock experience

I have shown sheep and cattle a various shows around the country.  Our best result was winning the Royal, Royal Welsh and the 3 county's with a Longhorn Cow and Calf.  Experienced in beef cattle and calving.  Experienced with up to 2000 ewe flock. Indoor and outdoor lambing. Passionate about grass land management and getting the most out of natural resources.

Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence, hgv, hgv1
Personal information
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture

5ft 8,13 stone stone

Relevant health problems


Other Information

Very fit

Marital status

Married with 3 children

Where are you currently living?Shropshire
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

My father was a shepherd all his life and passed his experience on to me,I spent 10 years in the Royal Marines,then 5 years as a long distance lorry driver before managing to get a job father and I also bred pedigree longhorn cattle and also welsh black and badger face sheep. I'm looking for a permanent position with a boss that is passionate about the welfare of their animals, I give 110% and I don't and won't cut corners.  I am passionate about livestock and my job is to give them the welfare that they deserve. Wife and children also enjoy to help out where needed.


Spend time with my family.  Rough shooting and training dogs.

AvailabilityStart: 30/06/2018, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionAnywhere
Where would you like to work?Any where
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.