CV reference number: 23921
CV Headline

CAREER CHANGE - Hard working, honest, dedicated and reliable individual seeking a full time and permanent post in farming, agriculture, or an alternative post in the countryside working with animals. My preferred locations are Oxfordshire, Northamptonshire and Buckinghamshire, but I am very happy to consider other UK locations and am willing to relocate. I appreciate that I am not officially qualified or experienced compared to other submitted CVs but I would like to be given an opportunity to return to what I am passionate about and I am a quick learner. I grew up on farm estates and have assisted in the past with domestic animals, wildlife, livestock, poultry and game. I have also owned ponies, horses and other pets and am familiar with mucking out, bedding, feeding, welfare etc. I will be most suited to dairy, arable and/or produce and will be very happy to be given the opportunity to learn how to look after and milk livestock on a dairy farm and participate in any other tasks. I will be very happy to hear from you regarding any other suitable posts.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsNot listed
Other qualifications

NA Secondary school and my experience, skills and knowledge gained throughout my career history.

Equipment experienceTractor
Other equipment experience

Vehicle categories covered as per licence: B, BE, C1, C1E, D1, D1E, F, K, L, N, P Previously driven tractors helping friends with straw/hay but not for a few years now and would love to learn again. I am also very practical and enjoy DIY and am happy to particpate in all tasks.  

Livestock experiencePoultry, Lambing, Sheep
Other livestock experience

I don't have 'stock experience' as such but have minor lambing experience and have helped to look after sheep in the past. I have experience with most domestic animals, ponies, horses and poultry.

Type of farming wantedMixed Farming
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
First languageEnglish
Other languagesNone
Pen picture

5' 8" in good health, non-smoker

Relevant health problems


Other Information

I am hoping to be given an opportunity to return to what I enjoy and am passionate about. Unfortunately I do not possess current experience and skills relating to the industry but am hoping someone will give me a chance to prove myself. If I am unsuccessful securing a 'hands on' post in farming, agriculture, horticulture or working with animals, but you think you may have a post more suitable to my experience and skills, I would still like to hear from you. I am very adaptable and can turn my hand to most roles, and using common sense also helps. Although they are not directly related I believe that my previous and current skills, experience and knowledge, can be transferred to any industry. I am accustomed to working long hours and am happy to work days, evenings, nights, weekends, bank holidays and shifts.

Marital status

Single, no dependants, no pets, non-smoker, driver with clean full UK licence. Seeking post with/without accommodation.

Where are you currently living?Oxfordshire
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

I have always lived on farm estates and have been privileged enough to have owned horses, livestock and a variety of pets. Two of the farms had their own shoots where I helped out with the pheasants and as a beater. Once farm bred sheep where I gained some lambing experience. I have also lived on farms where they had their own riding stables and/or horses and worked with the horses. I continually help to look after friends and family livestock and pets regularly including farm/house sitting. Although I don't possess any formal training, qualifications or experience the countryside and animals are my passion, and I wish to find a suitable post which will become my long term role. I am a fast learner and have proved to be a very versatile and adaptable individual with the willingness, enthusiasm and motivation to succeed. If you have an alternative post which is not hands on I will still be very interested. I have uploaded my CV but this will not reflect any current skills, experience for a change in career to farming.


I have very little time outside of work but love spending time with family and friends, farm/house/pet sitting, photography, movie fan, walking, and would like to get fitter and back in to jogging / running again. I prefer manual work to sitting behind a desk and the time is right for a change.

AvailabilityStart: 15/01/2018, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobAny
Preferred regionAnywhere
Where would you like to work?Oxfordshire/Northamptonshire/Buckinghamshire/Warwickshire
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4XtraHands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.