CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 96127

Enthusiastic and hard working 19 y/o herdsman. Experienced with high yielding Holsteins in West Sussex and cross bred autumn block calvers in Somerset. Looking to gain herd management skills as my future ambitions are to have a share farming tenancy and run my own block calving, grass based herd

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

BTEC

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

Level 3 extended diploma in agriculture with expected grades of triple distinction
Full list of GCSEs ranging from grade 4-8

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

I have experience driving a range of farm equipment mostly ranging from Fendt, Valtra, JCB telehandlers and Bobcat skidsteers. I have completed a wide range of tasks from trailer work, cultivations, ring and flat rolling, muck spreading, slurry tanking, topping, mowing, tedding, airating, harrowing, TMR feeding and many other tasks.

Other livestock experience

I have experience working with a high yielding Holstein herd with focus on milk quantity and genetics as well as cross bred autumn block calving herds with focus on making milk from forage. I have worked on dairy farms for 5 1/2 years for 2 different bosses and found my way up to trainee herd manager before returning to my first place of work to complete my college course.

Skills:

Completing milking routine as part of a team and alone

Yard work

Health check and diagnosis

Treatments of most ailments

Mastitis treatment

Dry off protocol

Young stock husbandry

Calving cows with issues

Record keeping using DP and Uniform

Most other husbandry tasks revolved around dairy farming.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

I also obtain a Telehandler ticket and passed the B+E test before it became available to everyone.

Age

19

Marital status

My girlfriend may also move with me dependant on accommodation.

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

West Sussex

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

-

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

-

Relevant health problems

-

Farming background

I am a 19 year old with 5 1/2 years of diary experience, I began my career working weekends and school holidays in West Sussex for a well known high yielding AYR 400 cow Holstein herd. I started off with milking and yard work and progressed to a more general farm workers role, completing tractor and tele-handler work including but not limited to; cultivations, trailer work, topping, rolling, straw chopping and other general machinery work. The vehicles Included Fendt 700 series, jcb telehandlers and a Bobcat skidsteer. During my time milking I gained knowledge and experience around cow health and treatments such as mastitis and dry cow therapy both antibiotic and non antibiotic as well as basic management and husbandry.

I moved to Somerset as part of my middle year placement for my college course, I began as a general farm worker on a 550 cow autumn block herd where I completed a variety of tasks including, milking, yard work, machinery maintenance, young stock husbandry and a wide range of tractor work. I vastly increased my experience with grass management and more tractor work including grassland management such as harrowing, air-rating and slurry tanking as well as TMR feeding. I found my passion for block calving, grass based systems and decided that this was the route I wanted to take. My boss at the time took on a share farming agreement 4 miles away and appointed myself and girlfriend as trainee herd managers where we were left to manage and carry out all the day to day tasks of the farm throughout the calving block. After a successful time in Somerset I returned to West Sussex on the same farm as a herdsman while finishing my college course and continued with training such as foot trimming and management tasks.

Now at the age of 19 I am a hard working and enthusiastic young dairy farmer with the ambition to build my dairy herd management skills and find my own share farming tenancy.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 11/07/2022 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Any

Where would you like to work?

I would work anywhere in the UK with suitable accommodation and a garden for my 2 border collies

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×