CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 95219

Irish stockperson & sheepdog handler, vast experience with beef cattle & sheep from hill to lowland.
Currently self employed on home farm with 30 suckler cows, 80 lowland ewes & 100 hill ewes.
Looking for an opportunity to gain experience further a field now, hoping to relocate

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

NVQ Level 1,2,3

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

QQI Level 5 Certificate in Agriculture and Level 6 Specific Purpose Certificate in Farming.
With Distinction.

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift

Livestock experience

Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

Experience with older less modern tractors MF 148 and 590 - using bale lifter, spike, box and towing.

Experience with Cat telehandler while working on modern beef feedlot.

Other livestock experience

I take great pride in my knowledge within animal welfare, health and husbandry. Having large experience managing flocks in all different systems. I have grown up on a mixed hill and lowland sheep and suckler farm lambing our own flock of ewes while buying sheep for local farmers in the nearby marts in past years added to my knowledge in the sheep industry

Quick summary of stock experience gained from home farm.

Full responsibility over home flock of lowland ewe flock of mixed crossbreds.

Bringing the scan up to a significantly higher percentage focusing largely on lamb mortality after turnout to fields.

Gradually improved ewe flock to better more prolific ewes producing hardier, more suitable for store market lambs.

Maintaining a health plan that works for my lowland flock and my fathers hill ewes also all dry sheep on farm.

Planning all sales for surplus replacements, cull ewes, fats and stores etc.

Grazing sheep rotationally to stay on top of grassland management key not overgraze any fields/grazing area.

Choosing the right AI bulls for different cows on our suckler herd, cows are a mix of continental breeds.

Training sheepdogs for clients and my own dogs.

I also worked on a large beef feedlot for a time herding the bullocks and heifers each morning in their slatted pens, getting cattle ready for factory, treating animals, vaccinating, tail and back clipping and tagging new cattle arriving onto feedlot.

Personal information
Sex

Female

Other Information

-

Age

22

Marital status

Yes

Nationality

Ireland

Where are you currently living?

Scotland

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Hobbies include to name a few walking, reading, sightseeing and learning about history

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

22 year old dark haired female, 5 foot 7 , aprox 12 stone weight.

Relevant health problems

-

Farming background

2012- Present, Sole responsibility and management of lowland flock of sheep on home farm and key influence of running suckler herd and horned mountain ewes.

2017-2018, Yard Assistant ( out of lambing season ) & Lambing Assistant on an agri store with farm attached onto yard.

Monitoring approx 450 indoor lambing ewes assisting ewes having issues/fostering surplus lambs onto single ewes then rotating from slatted pens to individual bedded pens/bonding pens and weather permitting out to grass asap.

Full responsibility of orphan lambs being fed on ad lib lamb feeder.

Grading lambs for market and slaughter, also ear notching ewes choosen for culling.

Vaccinating lambs and choosing replacements.

Farmer also had a herd of sucklers I would assist him with from time to time, calving, drafting for sale, etc

More detailed summary of my work experience in attached CV.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 31/05/2022 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

The United Kingdom

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×