CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 89862

I am passionate about farming especially sheep production.
I have been running a flock of my own for the last five years. As well as working teaching students at Hadlow College.
Where I have been able to practice my dairy and arable skills.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

City and Guilds, NVQ Level 1,2,3

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Arable, Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

City and Guilds Diploma in Agriculture sheep management Level 3 - Merit City and Guilds Diploma in Agriculture Level 2 - Distinction NCFE Level 1 award in employability skills BSC Level 1 award for Health & Safety at work Edexcel Functional Skills in Maths Level 1 Quadbike Competency Test GCSE Science B GCSE Additional Science B GCSE Design & Food Technology B OCR Level 2 National First Award in ICT in Business skills GCSE History C GCSE English D GCSE Mathematics D ASDAN Certificate - Silver

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Baler, Ploughing, Drilling, Tracked Machine, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Other harvesters, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Pig, Goat, Sheep, Lambing, Calving, Poultry

Other equipment experience

Arable equipment experience, Subsoiling, Ploughing, cultivation with Discs and Power harrows, Drilling with Direct drills, Grain carting, Baling.

Livestock equipment includes Telescopic handlers, TMR feeders and Front loaders.

Grassland equipment Rolling,Harrowing, Slitting, Mowing ,Topping, Bailing, Silaging.

I have other machinery experience with quad bikes and fencing equipment as will as trucks and trailer.

Other livestock experience

I started in the dairy sector milking cows and carrying out day-to-day routine tasks. As well as carving, worming, bolusing, foot-barthing and dry cow treatments.

I then transferred to sheep farming which is my main passion. I have been running a flock of over 300 ewes carrying out a range of different tasks e.g lambing, dagging, worming, shearing, fly treatment, weaning lambs, finishing lambs for butchers and customers, selecting breeding ewes. I work with my sheepdog Jet with the ewes as I work with the flock independently.

I have worked with in two different pig systems one outdoor one indoor. Farrowing, weaning and finishing pegs for Market.

At the same time working with a range of poultry such as broiler chickens and turkeys and laying ducks and hens.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

26

Marital status

No

Nationality

British

Where are you currently living?

South East

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I am a keen walker and enjoyed recently climbing Cairn Gorms mountain in Scotland. I have a 16ft Canadian Canoe and enjoy going out for a paddle with my family when I am home. I hold a BCU Level 2 Canoeing qualification. I also help out at our local church youth group when I am home at weekends.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

5ft9, 15 stone, sturdy/strong build

Relevant health problems

N/A

Farming background

I am not originally from a farming background however I have worked hard over the last 12 years to develop skills in a range of sectors.

I would work with my uncle at KW feed in my holiday when I was at school testing silage and feed with him.

I studied Agricultural at Hadlow college and once I could drive started working on dairy farms. Milking cows and rearing calves.

I move my studies to sheep, beef and grassland management in my final year. As it peaked my interest. When I completed my course I moved to a mixed farm in north Hertfordshire. Where I was going to replace there shepherd but I was move to the pig and poultry side instead. It was a very informative career move but unfortunately the farm was losing money and could no longer employ me. I move back to Kent where I became the Southeast regional sales rep for Barkers Animal Health working a patch consisting of Kent, Surrey, Sussex and Essex. The business was mainly focused in the west country so I had to build the area from scratch. Over a period of three years I have grown the business majorly on my own and had set up a shop in Ashford Market. Selling a range of veterinary medicines. I set up a small flock on my own in this period as I was losing out on practical experience as most of my day involved having cups of tea with farmers. I then moved to Hadlow College to work with their farm as I am a practical person. I ended up working more in the agricultural department teaching students practical skills. On their Dairy, Sheep, Arable and Pig units. I enjoyed the educational side and working with the students however it is a very political environment. Hadlow's Shepherd retired and I moved over to the sheep unit to replace him. I am now currently running 300 ewes in a lowland paddock grazing system. We are utilising a range of systems such as creep gates and feeders. I am trying to attempt to close the flock as there has been disease issues in the past. As well as moving the farm in to the 21st-century with mixed Grazing and forage crops on the Arable site. The flock mainly consists of Mule and Suffolk-mule ewes. I'm really enjoying what I'm doing however the management of the college are looking to sell the farm. The sheep unit currently consists of 70 ha and they have already sold 40 ha. They would like the sheep numbers increased however with limited land and resources. I feel the best option is to leave as the long-term plan appears to be replacing the college with a housing estate.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 14/06/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South & South East

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

I would personally like to stay in the south-east especially Kent as I consider at home however I would happily move to another part of the country to work with a good team on a grate farm.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×