CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 87162

Scottish outdoorsy all-rounder willing to undertake all aspects of farming duties. Very keen to broaden current skillet. A loyal and hardworking person with a passion for farming from early crofting upbringing.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

Not listed

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Arable, Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

Chainsaw qualification in maintenance, crosscutting and felling and process trees over 380mm - MPTC

Side by side UTV training

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Combine, Baler, Ploughing, Tracked Machine, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

I have driven tractors from very old (Case A reg) to my most recent tractor, John Deere 6000 series 12 plate. We also had an old JCB digger which I used regularly. I have good control and experience of loaders of tractors and telehandlers.

Our Claas combine was also of a good age and we carried out as much maintenance on this as we could.

I have experience using a sprayer, topper and fertiliser spreader, along with ATV Weed Wiper.

I drove Class 1 articulated lorries for B*********of Tain collecting grain from farms and taking to distilleries around the North of Scotland - alot of very tight places to manouver.

HGV2 experience was with tipper and skip lorries. Although my lisence for these has now lapsed, the skills learnt have not!

Most fencing I have undertaken has been done by hand, occasional hiring of a postwhacker. All of this is done working alone.

I have experience riding an ATV and driving a UTV.

Other livestock experience

I have just finished a temporary position on a farm in Scotland where I assisted in all lambing duties, shed organisation and movement of sheep. I was also involved with calving during this time and had daily duties to feed and check all cattle. Assisted with movement and all other associated duties.

I have more experience with sheep than cattle, however I am always looking to widen my skill set.

We had a herd of 200 cheviots growing up, until I was 30. I helped on the family croft with all aspects - Lambing, tagging, castration, dosing, trimming feet, treating wounds, assisting shearer, movement of sheep.

We had a small number of Aberdeen Angus cattle of which I assisted movement, bringing them in for the vets, tagging calves and a small amount of calving.

My Highland Cattle experience is similar to that of the Aberdeen Angus herd.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

My willingness to learn new skills and broaden my skill set is a big ambition of mine. I get my head down and get on with the job in hand and am willing to fully commit myself to any roles offered to me.

Age

35

Marital status

Wife and 2 daughters (5 & 7) and our pet Rottweiler - he is most definitely a pet and is most happiest when sleeping.

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Wiltshire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I enjoy golf and motorcycle riding and spending time outdoors with my family. I enjoy 'tinkering' on vehicles/implements.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

I'm 6'1

Relevant health problems

I am type 1 diabetic and have been for 14 years, it is well controlled with insulin

Farming background

March 2021 - May 2021 - Temporary position on busy farm with 400 ewes and 40 cattle. Daily duties included feeding of animals with quad, putting out bales with loader tractor. Counting and daily checks of all stock.

Carrying out all duties required in the lambing shed - assisting ewes when neccesary / administering medication when required.

2016 - 2021 - Estate worker for 800 acre estate. Duties include: assisting owner with Highland cattle (feeding/haylage/movement/vets/de-horning), ordering of feed and deliveries. All estate maintenance; all fencing, water troughs, drainage work, building maintenance, grass cutting, road repairs, light vehicle maintenance. All forestry; felling of trees, movement of wood, processing firewood, chainsaw maintenance. Generally given a jobs list to prioritize and work alone. Enjoy all aspects of working outdoors.

2007 - 2016

HGV class 1 & 2 driver for companies throughout Scotland. All aspects of yard work undertaken also in each role with use of forklift.

2000 - 2007

British Army - Royal Logistic Corp

Driver - toured Iraq and Northern Ireland

I grew up on a family run croft in Portmahomack. We had sheep and cows and undertook all arable farming.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 10/05/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South West

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

We are relocating to Wiltshire to be nearer family following a change in cirumstances. I have my own vehicle and am able to travel to and from any place of work at any required time.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×