CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 86342

Allrounder - Hospitality/Volunteer experienced.  Work in Scotland/Nothern Ireland. 

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

Not listed

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Arable, Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming, Other

Other qualifications

MA, BA

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, LGV/HGV Truck, International

Equipment experience

Tractor, Baler, Fencing

Livestock experience

Beef

Other equipment experience

I was a volunteer in Canada - the tractors I drove were a small, older version, for ploughing, an eight-wheeler older version for disking, the baler was a small, old square-bale machine.

The fencing I did was out in the middle of nowhere on my own, repairing single/simple fencing. I also built/assembled wooden gates for field entrances/exits.

Although I do not have experience of big machine driving, I am always open to learning new skills and am a reliable, responsible, mature and honest attitude farm helper, having worked outdoors in all kinds of weathers, up to -30 degrees in winter.

Other livestock experience

I have looked after horses, cows, alpacas, chickens and also supervised the farm and livestock during the farm owner's absence. I volunteered on farms in the middle of Saskatchewan where farms and livestock had to be protected against dangerous animals predators.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

Although I do not fit the regular farm hand/farm worker mould, I wanted to put my profile on here in case there are farms looking for folks with my skills set and life experience.

Age

58

Marital status

Single, no partner at present.

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Perthshire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Walk, read, volunteer

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

Height: 1,67 m: Weight: 80 kg

Relevant health problems

I cannot do extreme lifting. Unfortunately I cannot work in a cigarette smoking atmosphere.

Farming background

I grew up on a farm in Perthshire (strawberries, raspberries, potatoes), emigrated to mainland Europe as a teenager (hence the German driver's licence, with international licence) where I worked in academic and hospitality professions (teaching, airline industry, also as manager training new airline staff).

I have extensive experience in the hospitality industry so any farm which also runs accommodation would be a great fit for me.

In 2013 I started volunteering through the WWOOF Canada organisation on organic farms in Canada where I have volunteered on and off since then. As a volunteer in Canada, I was not only a general farm helper, I also did farm-sitting and guest house farm sitting, where I was responsible not only for the farm/livestock, but also for taking care of paying guests staying at the farm guest house. I enjoyed the responsibility attached to these positions.

Although I am not the professional farmer hand/worker usually found on this website, I am a reliable, responsible, honest farm worker - I love working with animals and it's important for me that animals are treated well, even if they are later destined for the abattoir.

I am always open to learning new skills, am a keen driver, have worked in all kinds of weathers outdoors, down to -30 degrees Celsius in winter: I don't smoke, drink, take drugs or have a SocialMedia/iPhone addition.

Although I have worked as part of a team, I work well on my own with minimum supervision.

My EU German driving licence (with international licence) just now which qualifies me to drive up to a 7,5 tonner.

As a student in Berlin, I worked for several years as a delivery driver.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 05/12/2020 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

Scotland

Type of job

Seasonal

Where would you like to work?

I have marked Scotland but would also consider Northern Ireland. I would also consider temporary and seasonal positions. In the future I would be looking for a Permanent Position - I am caring for an elderly relative at the moment and that might affect my starting date. I am willing to relocate to a different area.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×