CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 86185

Farmhand looking for work with small stock and countryside management

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

MSc, City and Guilds

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

-

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Beef, Pig, Goat, Sheep, Lambing

Other equipment experience

I have used tractors for basic tasks such as topping, cultivating and using the forks to move logs, and I have also driven the tractor with a post-knocker on a fencing job. I have begun to use chainsaws for basic cross-cutting and fencing work. For the contractor where I work part time, I use a Kramer wheel loader around the yard for moving crates, logs and so on. Previously I have extensive experience of using hand tools for conservation and hedgelaying work. I have also experience with a Prattley mobile system for working with sheep in the field.

Other livestock experience

Over the past three years I have gained experience with local shepherd. In the past three seasons I have helped with outdoor lambing during April, mainly checking ewes at night and assisting in the barn. At other times of the year I have helped with seasonal jobs such as drenching, spraying and foot trimming. I have a little experience with indoor lambing and general sheep work with other farms.

For over four years I have worked at a dairy goat farm, starting at weekends and now more part time. This has given me skills and experience in the housed livestock side of things, such as bedding and feeding, assisting with kidding and illness, and experimenting with enrichment for animal welfare. For the past year I have also been doing regular milking shifts and have learned how to milk in the parallel parlour.

Since August 2021 I have worked one day a week for a local mixed farm which has pigs and cattle. I help to feed and straw up the animals, and also help during TB testing.

Personal information
Sex

Female

Other Information

-

Age

45

Marital status

-

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Oxfordshire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

-

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

-

Relevant health problems

-

Farming background

2018-2022: assistant stock person and milker on a dairy goat farm.

2021-2022: general farm-worker for an agricultural contractor and on a local mixed farm.

2020-2022: occasional shepherd assistant on an Estate.

2019-2022: work and volunteering in hedgelaying, hand coppicing and scrub and fencing management.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/07/2022 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Any

Where would you like to work?

I am willing to move anywhere for the right position. I am open to part-time positions within driving distance of south Oxfordshire. I would love to work for a farm or grazier where I can help with small stock (sheep and goats) and land management. I am really interested in grassland management and ruminant nutrition so if there were an opportunity to get involved there and improve my tractor skills it would be great. I would also really like to help on the farm business side of things, so that I could learn about production and marketing systems and hopefully help a farm business to be profitable.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×