CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 85923

I have worked for the same family estate since leaving High school 42 years ago. The estate has passed over family hands 3 times an I have stayed throughout. I have gained a vast amount of experience throughout my time working for the estate. Looking for work within commuting distance to Biggar

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

City and Guilds

Type of farming wanted

Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

Oatridge agricultural collage - block release 1979 - 1982 - Citizens guild in agriculture
Biggar High School 1975 - 1978
Lely robot training
Welding course
Spraying course

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Combine, Baler, Ploughing, Tracked Machine, Telehandler/Fork Lift, 360 Ticket, Other harvesters, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Calving

Other equipment experience

Tractor work - ploughing, seeding, silage, forklift work, feeding beasts etc

Wheeled digger and trac 360 digger

Maintaining machinery - welding, fabricating, skilled at operating electric drills, metal cutters

Other livestock experience

Beef cattle - dosing, clipping, feeding, calfing 200 suckler cows per year

Jersey Cattle - Milking 200+ cattle. This was a new venture for the estate. 200 cattle were brought over from Denmark. I was part of a small team who trained the cattle to accept a robot to milk them. This took a huge amount of time and patience as well as learning to work a Lely robot.

Preparing cows for milking and maintained a clean and sanitary environment.

Inspect cows and calves regularly for apparent injury or disease.

Assisting Veterinarian in caesarians, hoof trimming etc

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

57

Marital status

Living with partner

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

south Lanarkshire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

golfing and attending football matches

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

-

Relevant health problems

Asthma - which is controlled and never posed a problem in my work

Farming background

As stated before I have worked for the same family for 3 generations and have gained a vast amount of experience added to my stock experience -

Keeping familiarity with legislation, regulations, policies and procedures

Superior problem-solving and crisis-management skills, staying calm in pressurised situation

Excellent team building, problem solving and decision making skills

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/01/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

Scotland

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

I would like a job which provides me with the security of having a full time permeant job, one that gives me satisfaction to use the skills I have gained and given trust and autonomy to do my job which I am highly skilled to do. I would need to stay within commenting distance to Biggar.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×