CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 83257

Im a hard working individual with a passion for livestock. Im keen to take my experience and strive for success whilst learning more. Currently the Dairyman on a 200 cow farm, previously a shepherd and this was my true passion. Id like to return to this and pursue my career as a shepherd.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

NVQ Level 1,2, City and Guilds

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

• Level 2 NVQ in meat and poultry industry
• Level 2 health and hygiene certificate

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

Basic experience with tractors and machinery,

•feeding/bedding

•carting bales and grass

•mucking outhouses

•skid steer and telehandlers

Other livestock experience

I have looked after 400 blackface sheep which were a pedigree flock where we showed and sold on for breeding tups. This has always been my true passion but I decided to try other other experiences and have also been milking cows for 2 years.

In my current role I'm a Dairyman looking after 200 dairy cows milking twice per day. I also do all the cubicle bedding, regular pressure washing and look after dry cows and give a helping hand to other parts of the farm when needed.

All my previous experiences include milking, lambing, dosing, dressing, and general everyday care, health and well being of livestock along side previously having learned about basic grassland management.

I am very good at remembering stock individually, remembering their offspring and what their fathers were, how many lambs they had the previous year etc.

I have a working dog that I trained myself and would get another if required.

Also have experience with beef and suckler cattle and would also consider a position on on a mixed beef and sheep farm.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

25

Marital status

Yes I am cohabiting with my partner

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Dumfries

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Outgoing, outdoors active person who enjoys walking spending most free time on the farm doing duties with livestock

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

Height; 165cm Weight; 70kg

Relevant health problems

N/A

Farming background

Taking care of 400 blackface sheep with replacement stock and finishing off all non retained lambs. (5 years)

200 beef cattle, 200 commercial bred sheep and 150 dairy cows. My main interest has always been the sheep and especially pedigrees. Scottish blackface have been my most common worked with pedigrees but Im open to either commercial or other pedigrees.

I have helped out as free labour on many other farms from my early teenage years until now to gain experience which I can use with my daily jobs from all different types and ways of farms.

I also have worked on a youngstock farm with 600 calves and 300 in calf heifers.

Currently a dairyman milking 200 cows twice per day.

Also I have my own working dog that I trained myself. I really wish to get back into and follow on with my passion for shepherding and tending sheep. I would also consider working mixed beef and sheep farm.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 11/12/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

Scotland

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Scotland only

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×