CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 83131

Cornish stockperson with machinery experience. Achieved level 4 agricultural business management. Work anywhere if there is accommodation.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

Not listed

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

12 GCSE, 2 A levels, level 4 agricultural business management apprenticeship

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving, Poultry

Other equipment experience

Drive tractors and handlers confidently, have my B+E trailer licence.

Other livestock experience

Worked with a stock for 4 years including beef cattle, stores and a suckler herd, 2 dairy farms one 180 cattle and the other 400. Ive worked with sheep lambing, shearing, store lambs. Worked with 18,000 layers and the egg rounds associated.

Have 2 horses and experienced in horses. Have general all round experience with most livestock

Personal information
Sex

Female

Other Information

-

Age

20

Marital status

Partner, well behaved cocker spaniel and I have 2 horses so a place for them would be a bonus if not I will find livery.

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Cornwall

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

My horses and Id like to join another young farmers club

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

5ft6 60kg

Relevant health problems

None

Farming background

4 years over a variety of farms.

Through paid and voluntary work, I have gained invaluable experiences working with animals of varying sizes within both veterinary, farm and stable environments. Although my family are not involved in farming I havent let this hold me back, livestock is my passion and what I want my life to revolve around.

In my current employment, I worked weekends dealing with the chickenslooking after the welfare of 18,000 free range chickens, grading and packing the eggs. I finished my A levels and was looking for my next adventure so my boss decided to offer me an apprenticeship as she knew farming was where my heart lies and Id made a good impression. I was hard working and willing to put all my effort into working and learning. Since then Ive grown in confidence and knowledge with the cattle, store lambs and arable land, using tractors and machinery.

A farm who has a commercial herd of 60 sucklers, rearing our calves to finishing as well as buying in stores to finish, around 300 a year, using grass, homegrown silage, crimped barley and straw, over 750 acres. In the winter we buy in 600 store lambs of varying quality to finish on winter grass. I have been trusted helping with our large egg rounds of over 200 customers organising over 7000 dz eggs a week and occasionally dealing with the invoices and money. Alongside my apprenticeship, I have been milking cows in a 170 herd including 40 jersey cows, helping look after the beef and dairy calves differently. I am currently milking alone once a week.

As part of my apprenticeship, Ive had the opportunity to work at a 400 cow dairy herd near Lostwithiel while they are block calving for 6 weeks and rearing 400 calves with a mortality rate of around 1-2%, as well as a large sheep farm in Anthony, of around 2000 ewes for lambing time. At the farm, I learnt how to handle and treat sheep, with a flock of 170 who lamb in January.

I have been fortunate to have my own horses which I have worked for and paid for myself, I currently have an 18yr old ex race horse, a 5 yr old Thoroughbred who I broke in myself and the most mischievous of the lot a little Shetland. I have worked at a variety of stables, this has given me a good grounding to work in a competitive environment. I proved my people skills when volunteering at Caradon hill trekking, I would help adults and children, some with disabilities who had no experience of horses or riding, where communication and keeping people calm and enjoying their trip as much as possible was key for safety and for business.

I used to volunteer for 3 evenings a week at a local Vets. My duties include cleaning consultation rooms and washing bedding and scrubs. I also participate in monthly stock takes and ensure equipment is ready for surgery. I enjoyed helping in consultations holding animals alongside Vets and Nurses.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 19/01/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Anywhere with accommodation

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×