CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 82046

Experienced herdsman/herd manager.  Work in Wiltshire/Somerset/Hampshire.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

Not listed

Type of farming wanted

Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

DMA-herd manger qualification

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Ploughing, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

I hold a telehandler license, and a full uk driving license, I have some experience of ploughing however would benefit from a refresh, I mainly use loader tractors, feeder wagon, scrapper tractors, JCBs, and manatou. I have many years experience on outdoor grazing dairy farms in which fencing was part of the day to day tasks on the farm-maintaining fence lines, post bangers and stock fencing. I am very confident in using machinery and pick up the knowledge on them very quickly.

Other livestock experience

I have worked on dairy farms since 2007 and have a great deal of knowledge with dairy cows and calve rearing. I have done 1 season on lambing over that season I helped lamb over 1000 ewes. I have work on a beef and sheep farm in Box, they had around 500 beef Animals, this position included moving cattle, daily checks, weighing and TB testing.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

31

Marital status

Married with 2 young children

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Wiltshire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Car enthusiast, playing with my children and pets. Anything outdoors.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

62 118kg-(not in fat)

Relevant health problems

-

Farming background

Lambing/lamb rearing 04/2007-09/2007

Corsley, Wiltshire

Responsibilities:

Assisting the sheep farmer with lambing / and rearing yews,

Recording keeping/tagging a yews/lambs

Hygiene and maintenance around the farm

Assistant herdsman 04/2007- 10/2009

Corsley, Wiltshire

.

Responsibilities:

•Calf rearing

•Dry cow checks

•Milking 2x a day

•Record keeping

•General yard maintenance

Relief Milker 09/2009-09/2010

Salt box farm, Box

Responsibilities:

•Milking 1x a day

•Assisting farmer with general yard work e.g cubicle housing,feeding & bedding of heifers using straw chopper

Farm hand 09/2010-02/2012

Farm, Box

Responsibilities:

•Fencing

•Tractor driving with trailer

•Weighing and sorting sheep

•Checking and feeding beef cattle

Herdsman-02/2012-05/2013

Dairy, Stockton Wiltshire

Responsibilities:

•Milking 2x day

•General yard work

•Assisting with TB testing and vet checks

Herdsman / assistant manager 09/2012- 01-2017

Dairy, Wiltshire

I have been working with a spring and autumn block calving, I gained a lot of experience at this farm, and took part in a DMA course and graduated whilst here. I have gained knowledge on heat detection, detecting mastitis and spotting lameness in cows.

Responsibilities:

•Milk 2x a day

•Yard and farm maintenance

•Record keeping

•Grass management

•Calf rearing

•De-horning

•Assisting vet with TB testing

•Night checks

•Calving dry cows

•Tractor work

Herdsman 03/2017- 2019

Quickes

Devon

Since iv been working here, I have thoroughly enjoyed my time, I have gained a lot of experience boosted my confidence a lot with the help of the team here, I have been on various training course to increase my skills, and feel ready to take on a new challenge.

Responsibilities

•Milking

•Young stock checks

•Weighing and assisting with dehorning to young stock

•Grass management

•General yard and field work

•Insuring vehicles are to a safe standard to use reporting any problems

•Communicating as a team member

•Foot trimming

•Dry cow checks assisted calving

•Tending to sick cows

•Working in a safe and responsible way

•Tractor work

•Working the Quickes way

Senior Herdsman 04/2019-present

In this position I milk 500 cows, indoor and all year round calving, twice a day milking, dealing with sick cows, drying off, assisting with calving & general animal welfare.

When I accepted this position the farm was planning on changing over to robot milking however this has now come to a stop and my role at this farm has turned out to be only milking and I feel I am not making the most of my skills and experience in this role any more.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 15/06/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South West

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Wiltshire, Somerset, Hampshire

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×