CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 81943

Experienced head dairyman/ heard manager have been running a heard of Friesian holstein as sole Herrdsman for last 9 years in Dorset. wife has been calf rearing on farm and is also experienced relief milker.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

Not listed

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

-

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Pig, Goat, Sheep, Lambing, Calving, Poultry

Other equipment experience

I have done basic tractor work, muck spreading,scraping etc, I can drive a telehandler and use to lift downed cows and basic things but I have been a dairyman on a farm where they have had tractor drivers for last 9 years so have not had to use them much, I am more than happy to get back in to bedding up and feeding though.

Other livestock experience

Milked sheep for 3 years on a mixed stock farm,which included Jersey cows, Angus and red pole beef animals llamas goats chickens and ducks.

Have spent last 9 years milking as sole Head Heardsman/heard manager high yielding holstein producing milk for cheese.

Worked feeding pigs on an outdoor farm and cleaning the rearing pens on my days off from milking sheep.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

My job would need 2 months notice to leave which would start from when a decision is made on taking a new job.

Age

36

Marital status

Married with 2 children

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Dorset

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

We are very active out doors people who like the coast and the sea.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

-

Relevant health problems

-

Farming background

2011- present sole head Herdsman/herd manager

running a heard of high yield holstein Friesian cows, working to reduce antibiotic usage in line with the cheese makers requirements, doing all foot trimming in house both lame and dry trimming using my own foot crush. Working closely with the vet to maintain good heard health. Before that I worked as an assistant Heardsman in north Devon learning the skills to transfer from the dairy sheep work I had been doing over to cattle.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/11/2020 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South West

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

I would like to stay in the South West around Dorset Devon and Cornwall but would also be happy to head to the Isle of wight. Would prefer to stay within an hours drive of the coast.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×