CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 81194

Experienced shepherd, looking for full time work in Northumberland area. Available from April. Also worked with cattle and carried out various tractor /machine work. Good dogs, hard working, can work alone or as part of a team. Accommodation required.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

NVQ Level 1,2,3

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

Level 3 extended diploma in Agriculture (High Merit)
3 A Levels (Maths, Physics, Graphics)
10 GCSE's

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

I have a range of skills spanning from technical abilities in machinery, to analysing stock in their health and condition. I have been driving for over 8 years and understand, after a quick show, the ins and outs of tractors for the job at hand. I have used many pieces of machinery including muck spreaders, rolling and toppers to name a few, as well as estate skills such as field draining, hedge laying/planting and drystone walling/fencing.

However, from college I understand the new technology that is available to the farming industry such as in the broad knowledge in the tepari racewell systems.

I am competent when it comes to numeracy and literacy, while having experience and knowledge in government legislation and completion of forms.

Other livestock experience

I am currently working full time as head shepherd looking after a flock of 1200 breeding ewes and helping assist with a suckler herd of 100 pedigree shorthorns.

I have been working with animals since I was very young, and through this have come across the multiple problems and diseases they can obtain. I have helped treat these animals through the multiple variations of transmission (dosing, bolus, injection, and drench) and obtained a certification in the administration of animal medicines.

I have carried out the regular farm jobs of stock checking and feeding up. With my job I currently run two trained sheepdogs to help in gathering and the movement of sheep and I am training a young dog as well.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

25

Marital status

single

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Northumberland

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I have been very fortunate to have visited a variety of countries in different parts of the world, from Europe, Caribbean, America and South America, and have enjoyed the diversity of the cultures and the people. I hope to travel in the future so that I can continue to experience more. One of my greatest passions is horse racing; my family has always been in the sport and therefore have grew up around them. I go to race meets often and lead up the horses to the parade ring as well as tacking them up, wash down and walk for cool down. I am an avid music fan who has broad taste in most genres. I have a great Interested in a number of sports including football and rugby specifically, either watching them on the TV or playing them for fun. I bought my first working collie while in college and have taken a keen interest in the raising and training of working dogs. From this I have gained more experience and have bought 2 more dogs and started to train another young one. While in the future train my own dogs from pups and maybe go trailing. I enjoy going out with my course colleagues and friends to formal/ social events, as well as casual pub quizzes and alike. I was part of the design society when at NT University and was within the young farmers at Skelton so have been able to meet and talk to a range of people from different backgrounds. I also enjoy going to the pub for a few pints and to socialise as well as local/ county shows.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

Height 6ft

Relevant health problems

no

Farming background

Jan 2021 to date Self employed Contract Shepherding

June 2020 Jan 2021 Low Farnham - Head Shepherd, Full time on the farm as head shepherd

Looking after a flock of 1500 breeding ewes and all jobs related. Also help where needed with other general farm jobs

2016- Jun 2020 - Full time on the farm as head shepherd

Looking after a flock of 1200 breeding ewes and helping

assist with a suckler herd of 100 pedigree shorthorns.

While also driving farm machinery if needed when leading

away from the fields during harvest or cleaning out sheds.

Spring 2018  North Lynham - worked at lambing time with his commercial flock. Completing

standard husbandry tasks, lambing ewes which incurred

problems and feeding lambs and pets.

Summer 2017 - Spent the summer leading in grain from the fields during the

harvest period. During the wet periods help sort livestock

and clean up areas around the farm.

2015-2016  I was working as a general farm worker, doing regular

husbandry tasks with the stock (Beef and Sheep) and small

amounts of Machinery work. Jobs included regular stock

checks, leading away during harvest and lambing.

2014-2015 Guest House Kitchen Porter and cleaner (weekend & Holidays), also

greeting new guests with a friendly welcome,

Registration then show to rooms.

2013-2014 Public House Waiter (weekend & Holidays) - Greeting customers

Taking drinks and food orders, service and caring for them

till they leave. Also working with the other staff and having

the ability to communicate without problem.

June 2013 Drawing Office, Developing the use of Fast CAD, Auto CAD and Sketch Up,

of Wooler Accompanying the Architect on multiple site visits

(Work Experience) Undertaking photographs and site investigations/concerns.

June 2010 Junior Administration Clerk. General Office tasks

(Work experience) including filing and Data imputing (SAGE line 50)

2008-2012 Hotel Kitchen Porter (weekend & Holidays). Working alongside

the chefs and waiting on staff

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/04/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

North East

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

North Northumberland

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×