CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 80436

Semi Experienced Herdsman, Looking for new Role

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

City and Guilds

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

Looking to study an advanced diploma in agricultural management, this will not affect my time working

Driving Licence

Provisional

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

Experienced with tractor driving including scraping, Feeding using Keenan mixer wagon. I am looking to further my experience with machinery and am really willing to learn and further my skills

Other livestock experience

I have and am comfortable in the parlour and have alot of experience milking in different types of parlours from abrest, to modern DeLaval parlours. I have milked young first time heifers upto and including cows, in a variety of herd sizes the largest being 500ish. I am happy to administer medications from antibiotics to calcium and bolus, I have used computer on farm software to record these as well as paperwork versions. I am happy calving and have done this on a variety of cows, I am also good at rearing calves and feeding etc, I have worked on different farms from more of an turnout grazing system to indoor and fed TMR, This is am able to mix and put out on my own, that said given time i would probably do this alot faster as i havent done it for a while so maybe a bit slower to begin with, I am the sort of person that will check on stock all of the time especially during calving or when calves are due, I will do this without prompting and deal with what i find and i am not scared to ask for help if i need it. I am able to use a calf jack with no issues. I have worked mainly around Dairy, Beef and Sheep. With sheep i have mainly worked alongside the shearers, fed during lambing and also lambed quite a few over the years. With Beef cattle i have mainly just finished them off - feeding and bedding daily, and keeping an eye on welfare of the stock. I can use UNIFORM Agri - Management Software via a phone app, or via an office PC.

I have done more with the Dairy side, Milking, working with Milk Recording, Setting up the parlour and milking, recording medications, scraping of the yards, putting the cows out to and in from grazing. I have also assisted with dis-budding of calves on a regular basis. I am able to foot trim with no issues and i am working towards my DIY AI certificate which i hope to attain soon.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

I am looking to start ASAP, ideally in a vacancy I can use my existing skills and indeed develop further skills along the way.

Age

37

Marital status

I have a partner who lives with me

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Surrey

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I like to relax and socialise with friends and family, eat lots and I have a good sense of humour. This aside I am an easy person to get along with and find it easy to communicate with people.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

I am 5ft 8 and medium build, 37 years old, down to earth hardworking and dedicated to the industry.

Relevant health problems

None

Farming background

1998-2017 - Canterbury Kent

I started work here in 1996, I was a farm hand and would work weekends and evenings mainly, having worked here for this time since leaving school in 2000 I started a job here full time in the September of 2000, I was a Trainee Herdsman at this time. I was responsible for the milking parlours, changing filters, and cleaning scraping of barns, bedding down, assisting with foot trimming, vet visits and other routine work. Learning from the head herdsman and other herdsman about stockmanship and looking after the cows how to dry off correctly.

2002 - Herdsman - I worked my way up the ladder to become a Herdsman in 2002, having worked on the farm as a trainee up until this point. I found all my skills come together in this role, I was also responsible for the then trainee herdsman also and his training alongside the Head Herdsman. I became responsible for treatment of cows, drying off and milking on my own in the parlour during evening and some mornings, Documenting of medicines, learning more bcms becoming involved with fields and rotational plans, working the bray calendar and more tractor driving.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/03/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

I am happy to consider all Placements, but they must be permanent and with accommodation. I am happy to learn and quickly, I am able to complete tasks on my own easily once shown if needed at the time, apart from that i am easy to get along with, ready to learn from others and better myself via qualifications in time, I would be a good asset to a farm, since i feel that i have the right attitude to dealing with farming of stock, i feel that i have age and a bit of life experience about me alongside common sense. I am wanting to work, I am a hard and dedicated worker, who is wanting a chance to be able to get out there and push forward into a real career in farming.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×