CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 70219

Eager and enthusiastic Scottish stockman/tractorman. Lives in Stirlingshire, looking for farm work in and around Central Scotland. Very willing to learn any new core skills. Experienced in livestock husbandry (sheep and beef cattle), sheepdog handling, fencing and various machinery operations.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications


Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

NC Agriculture, B+E trailer license, livestock haulage certificate (sheep, cattle, pigs and goats)

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

When I worked on an Estate in Scotland, tractor jobs have mainly involved loader work, but I have done field operations such as power harrowing, discing and grass harrowing. At silage time during said employment, we baled all the silage in 1 cut, usually making over 2,000 bales per season. My job during silage was mainly stacking, but sometimes I also operated the bale wrapper. I also have experience with a telehandler, which I learned over 7 months working down in Warwickshire, England.

Other livestock experience

As a cattleman on the Estate, I worked with a herd of 260 beef cattle. Breeds were Blue-Gray and Simmental/Limousin crosses. Jobs entailed calving, calf rearing, horn debudding and general husbandry. As a shepherd, I worked with a hill flock of 3,000 Scottish Blackface, Swaledale and Cheviot ewes. I am experienced in lambing, lamb rearing, shearing, condition scoring, hoof trimming and general husbandry. Most of my shepherding experience comes from working with hill flocks, therefore I have participated in many hill gatherings. I have a 5 year old, fully trained border collie.

Personal information


Other Information

I have a 5 year old, fully trained working border collie who is keen and determined to work around sheep.



Marital status




Where are you currently living?


First language


Do you have the right to work in the UK?


Other languages



Table Tennis, Cinema, Skiing, History

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)


Relevant health problems


Farming background

I have been working in agriculture since the age of 17. My most recent position was a self-employed stockman in Warwickshire for 7 months. Before the first Covid lockdown, I spent 5 years as a tractorman/stockman on an estate in the West Highlands in Scotland. I have also worked as a general farm worker near Crianlarich, Stirlingshire and as a voluntary farm worker. I hold the NC Certicficate in Agriculture which I studied for at SRUC Oatridge Campus. I am currently working at my parents small holding in Stirlingshire; mainly looking after a small sheep flock and doing general maintenance, thus I am looking for work mainly within Stirlingshire and Argyll. I also help with seasonal work on a hill farm at Loch Lomond. I am also self-employed.


Start: 23/06/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region


Type of job


Where would you like to work?

Mainly in Central Scotland, preferably in and around Stirlingshire and Argyll.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.