CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 62287

Young and enthusiastic shepherd looking for a new job role to further knowledge and experience.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

BTEC, NVQ Level 1,2, NVQ Level 1,2,3

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

NVQ level 2 in animal care and a NVQ level 3 subsidiary in Agriculture

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

Have some experience driving tractors doing jobs such as, topping, grain carting and preparing the soil to be drilled. Also have experience of driving a quad on a variety of terrains.

Other livestock experience

Have milked for a small run family farm since 2016 and still do occasional milking. They have around 250 head of cattle including stores, I have milked, calved, reared on calfs, done some small amount of telehandler driving (no ticket) along with some tractor work.

The past couple of years I have also worked on another dairy farm calving and rearing the calves. At this farm I was responsible for ensuring the cows calved without any issues and rearing on the calves.

I have lambed now for the last 3 seasons lambing from 100 to 1000 ewes, on a variety of farms for a number of people. I can happily work alone but also in a team. I have lambed indoor and outdoor on a variety of terrains.

For the past year and a half I have been shepherding a hill farm in mid Wales Machynlleth, here I have managed the sheep side of the farm. I have done many yearly tasks such as drenching and foot care.

I also train my own sheepdogs in my spare time I have fully trained and part trained dogs but have a keen interest in doing more of this in the future.

Personal information
Sex

Female

Other Information

-

Age

20

Marital status

-

Nationality

British

Where are you currently living?

Powys

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Outside of work I have a very keen interest in training sheepdogs. I also have an interest with horses, and currently own one which I occasionally use to check the sheep and check the land. I also attend young farmers which hopefully we'll be able to attend very soon. I also thoroughly enjoy going to local shows and also royal Welsh throught the year.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

-

Relevant health problems

-

Farming background

2016-2019 General farm worker on a small run family dairy. Doing tasks consisting of mainly milking, and calf rearing also done small amount of tractor work and general stock duties.

2018 Lambed for a family in Lampeter lambing around 200, work consisted of lambing, ringing, tagging and moving stock outside once lambed.

2019-2020 Lambed for a family in Builth, lambing 1000 ewes indoors consisting of the general tasks of lambing, also small amount of lambing outdoors.

2019-Current. Shepherd to a flock of just over 300 sheep. I have built the flock from just 100 sheep bought of the previous tenant.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 28/05/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Anywhere within the Uk.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×